RSS

Vegan MoFo: Day 24

24 Oct

The other night I was really craving some cookies, but I knew I didn’t have much flour or sugar left (an extreme rarity for me) and was unsure about a number of other ingredients as well. After about the 5th time that I said out loud that I really could go for a cookie I decided I’d better get baking. I pulled out Veganomicon despite my unimpressive experiences with its baked goods in the past because it was handy and seemed likely to have an oatmeal cookie recipe. I wanted chewy and figured oatmeal would help offset my lack of flour. The recipe said you could use regular flour or whole wheat pastry flour – which reminded me that I had some of that to use up! So I did about half and half. I don’t know for sure whether it’s the pastry flour’s fault or the lack of margarine or any type of egg replacer, but these were a let down.  They weren’t terrible, but they weren’t what I’d call chewy and the oatmeal was not nearly enough front and center for my tastes. I really need to just officially retire Veganomicon from my baking repertoire. Isa’s and my taste-buds are just too different. cookiescookiescookies

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 24, 2009 in veganmofo 2009, yummy in my tummy

 

Tags:

One response to “Vegan MoFo: Day 24

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

