RSS

p.s.

27 Aug

I forgot I wanted to do a “what’s this all about then?” post. I’m in Austin getting my master’s in Library Science. OK, so technically I’m getting a Master of Science in Information Studies. But what on earth does that mean? I can’t go telling people my department is the School of Information and expect them to know I’m studying to be a librarian. (And yes, you need a master’s degree to be a librarian. Who knew?)

So I’m here in Austin getting this degree. And I miss my friends in Los Angeles and I miss my friends in Pennsylvania. But I’m busy and don’t write or call them. Shame on me.

Coincidentally, I’ve been knitting up a storm. But giving everything away without a picture or anything by which remember all that hard work. I’ve also been enjoying reading Wendy over at Knit and Tonic. I thought, heh, that would be a neat kind of thing to have/do. It’s a pretty cool way to hear of patterns and learn from others. (Though I guess I need another gauge checking lesson.)

So I’m giving this a go to say hi to friends, to keep a knitting journal for myself that can hopefully help others and kinda just for fun. You may hear about school. You may hear about veg*nism. (I’m currently in a mild limbo between vegetarian and vegan.) You will definitely hear about knitting.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 27, 2005 in other bits of life

 

2 responses to “p.s.

  1. morgan

    August 28, 2005 at 3:26 am

    But getting a degree from the School of Information has such an entertaining Douglas Adams meets Kafka ring to it! I think you should ONLY tell people you are getting a Master’s of Science from the School of Information, then cock your eyebrow at them meaningfully and see if they run away screaming.
    Then again, I have an odd sense of humor, and am secretly far geekier than my job and shoe collection would imply.

     
  2. ellie

    August 28, 2005 at 9:11 pm

    You know, I never thought of it that way. That’s why I love you Morgan.

     

Leave a Reply

 
