RSS

I’m Einstein! n’t.

31 Aug

If I were really Einstein, wouldn’t I be doing something I was supposed to be doing instead of frequenting silly quiz sites? (You know, like finishing my unpacking from yesterday, entering my last week’s worth of receipts into quicken or how about doing my readings for class?) And if I were really Einstein I bet I wouldn’t have had to frog a “whole” Raspy sleeve. The whole needs to be in quotes here because while I had nearly reached the raglan shaping, the sleeve only reached my elbow. Lest you think my engineer father failed me with the math help, let me explain. At least as much as a random 3 stitch row gauge difference can be explained. I was knitting my sleeve, thinking, this doesn’t seem to be growing much, but I’m zipping through the pattern. Well, there’s a bunch of increase every 8 rows ahead, it will grow then. But it didn’t. I checked the gauge. 27 rows in 4 inches. WFT mate?

How was the body at 24 and the sleeve at 27? And it winds up making up such a big difference! So I’ve done the math to figure how to adjust from 28 to 27 and get the inches right, but I’m too lazy right now to put my mind to taking in to account the fact that Rowan Denim shrinks 20% and mine shrinks 12.5%. Yarr!

On a more positive note, my first day of class was entirely uneventful, my kitten had her last round of shots, my rent check got turned in on time and I have a vacuum cleaner and a big bright beautiful box of Katia Jamaica yarn waiting for me at UPS and the post office respectively.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 31, 2005 in knitting, quiz central

 

2 responses to “I’m Einstein! n’t.

  1. morgan

    September 5, 2005 at 2:40 pm

    Well, *I* am apparently…. Saddam Hussein. Um. I have no explanation. But I imagine YOU do.

     
  2. ellie

    September 6, 2005 at 10:58 pm

    It just means you’re tough.

     

Leave a Reply

 
