RSS

Food for thought.

16 Sep

Lies I learned in Library School. (From Library Link of the Day via j’s scratchpad. Thanks j.)

I’ll add to j’s comments that I too am so far very happy with my career change. (Admittedly, it’s hard to change to something that doesn’t beat working in reality TV.) But that list struck a chord with me (especially the part about Master’s degrees) and I bet it does with a lot of people.

The Occupational Outlook Handbook gives a slightly more accurate view of current trends, and luckily I read that before coming to school, so I wasn’t overly excited about graying or salary prospects.

I’ve been running into a number of pages discussing this kind of thing since I’ve started fooling around in the blogosphere and it’s nice to know we’re at least starting a dialog about it, even if we don’t exactly know what to do besides vent yet. If you’re already an active participant in the discussion, I’d love any suggested reading.

Lastly, while I’m not going to expound upon it right now, for me, this brings up interesting aspects of the history of librarianship that at least in my school, is not really discussed outside a few marginalized electives. I’ve been especially intrigued by the historical role of the American public library as a mechanism to tame the masses and its more current role of middle class reading room. Perhaps more on this later.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 16, 2005 in library stuff

 

Leave a Reply

 
