RSS

Book News.

28 Sep

Daniel Handler (aka Lemony Snicket) is speaking at the Texas Book Festival! This presented a mildly distressing moment when I realized that Bill Clinton is presenting at the same time. I kinda feel like a bad person for choosing to see Daniel Handler, but that’s not stopping me. It is however motivating me to somehow cram in time to read Book the Eleventh. (Also, I might try to get both wristbands just in case.)

If you’re in the Austin area, you can get info on the Bill Clinton presentation here and on Lemony Snicket here.

In other book news, I hadn’t really looked into what was going on with Google Print (I know, I know, bad library student) but today I was forwarded this article. If it speaks the truth, I like it. I’ve had to write a bunch of papers on totally obscure topics (Incunabular Printing of the Sephardic Diaspora
anyone?)  lately and it would have been darned handy to have an easier way to see what books might have had information on my topic. Of course it also opens up the, “Well, I know this book exists now how do I get it?” issue, which sometimes translates into the “What do you mean you don’t have it? But I need it now!” issue, ILL* issues, etc. Now if we hook Google Print up to OPACs* so you can choose to only search your library… I don’t know. I think I love it.

And now the best part – 3 hours of presentations today means I’ve been knitting! I’ll post after knitting group tomorrow. It will be more impressive.

* For my friends who haven’t been inundated with library jargon, ILL is Inter-Library Loan and OPAC is Online Public Access Catalog.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 28, 2005 in general geekdom, library stuff, other bits of life

 

2 responses to “Book News.

  1. Lolly

    October 5, 2005 at 6:31 am

    That Sephardic Diaspora one is right up my alley… seriously! I swear, we would have a lot to talk about!

     
  2. ellie

    October 5, 2005 at 3:17 pm

    Oh it was great fun! Next up I’m doing Viking record keeping. I’m sure you’ll see posts on it. I have a killer one on Beatrice Warde – a 20s typographer – that’s who my cat is named after. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
