RSS

Fresh to you…sucker!

28 Sep

So there’s this truck outside my building. Written on the truck is “Fresh to you.” Now I’m sure this is supposed to make me feel safe and secure in the knowledge that the food being brought is indeed fresh. However, I can’t help but take an alternate reading, a meaning which is mildly hard to convey without being able to implement tone of voice, but here goes. I feel like they’re telling me that it’s fresh to me just because I don’t know any better, more like something from a thrift store would be new to me, though actually quite old, like they’re saying, “Fresh to you … sucker!” It makes me giggle every time I see that truck.

Also, they have captured (on video) a giant squid alive in the wild for the first time ever! And they’ve put up a paper (in pdf format) about it for free online. This is super exciting, except for the fact that the poor squid struggled for 4 hours then lost a tentacle. *Ellie suddenly realizes she could never actually be a marine biologist.*
____________________________________________________________

Additional information for Morgan’s edification:

So these scientists know a lot of what they know about giant squid because they turn up in the stomachs of sperm whales. So they followed around sperm whales looking for giant squid. In addition, they rigged up a bunch of bait with hooks in it and a digital camera. This allowed them to see how the squid attacks, which is cool and brand new information. And apparently they are much more active preditors than previously speculated, striking quickly, then coiling their two longer/attack tentacles “into an irregular ball in much the same way that pythons rapidly envelop their prey within coils of their body immediately after striking.”

One other cool thing: “Giant squids are unique among cephalopods as they can hold the long tentacle shafts together with a series of small suckers and corresponding lugs along their length that enable the shafts to be ‘zipped’ together.”

From the tentacle, they estimate that this particular squid was 4.7m from head to regular arms and 8m from head to extra long arms. Of course, now we’ve got uber-mega squid, I mean Colossal Squid. The squid fact sheet gives maximum lengths for giant squid of 10-13 meters, with mantle (basically the head, not counting any arms) lengths of around 2.25m. Colossal squid have estimated mantle lengths of 2-4 meters, total length to 30 feet. There are some great pictures on that squid fact sheet, but not for you Kasha.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on September 28, 2005 in deep sea

 

7 responses to “Fresh to you…sucker!

  1. Kasha

    September 28, 2005 at 4:23 pm

    I want to support your blogging, but these nasty photos are KILLING ME! If eating meat is GAK, giant squid that looks like bacon is double GAK!

     
  2. Morgan

    September 28, 2005 at 4:46 pm

    I’m confused…. and too lazy to read the paper… why did it lose a tentacle?
    Also, how freaking cool! How giant IS this giant squid?
    Ignore Kasha. She’s wimpy. If she’s not careful, I’ll send her over to the NYT article about post-pregnancy fistulas in African woman or Jess’s link to the picture of the incredibly fucking nasty duck fetus our friend recently ate. Words or pictures, THOSE were enough to turn even my stomach.

     
  3. ellie

    September 28, 2005 at 5:32 pm

    Kasha – Look at the cute sloths above.

     
  4. ellie

    September 28, 2005 at 5:33 pm

    Morgan – It got caught on the hook that was in with the bait that was the lure to make it come to the camera. Or something like that. I only skimmed the paper myself. 🙂 I’ll read more and report back.

     
  5. kasha

    September 29, 2005 at 2:53 am

    Morgan-You’ll be happy to know I only read 3 paragraphs in the NYTimes article before I added ‘fistula’ to my list of stop sign words. As in, stop reading this second, unspeakable horrors ahead.
    Elda-I do prefer the sloths, in more ways than three!

     
  6. Morgan

    September 29, 2005 at 2:19 pm

    Awwwww….
    You’re SO in the right graduate program! 🙂
    xoxoxoxo

     
  7. Morgan

    September 29, 2005 at 2:21 pm

    Oh, and Kasha?
    I once used “fistula” in a game of scrabble. I added “ula” to “fist” to make “fistula” and some other word, and my cousin and aunt’s boyfriend didn’t believe it was a word. They challenged me, looked it up, and were promptly a)nauseated and b)demanding to know why I knew the word. Such is the curse of the over-reader.
    I still maintain the duck fetus is more disgusting, because I had to SEE it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
