RSS

YIKES!

03 Oct

I took a little break from reading Knowledge Lost in Information: Report of the NSF Workshop on Research Directions for Digital Libraries to read some blogs and ran into this quiz:

You Belong in London

A little old fashioned, and a little modern.
A little traditional, and a little bit punk rock.
A unique woman like you needs a city that offers everything.
No wonder you and London will get along so well.

What City Do You Belong in? Take This Quiz

So that’s fine, though I’m sorely missing LA lately. But then, my eye catches Who’s your 80’s heartthrob and look what I get:


Your 80s Heartthrob Is

Bill Gates

I guess that’s what I get for saying I’d be a geek girl hanging out in the computer lab and that my ideal guy is a genius. But still, was he actually a heartthrob? I should have gone with the bad boy. I could have had John Stamos.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on October 3, 2005 in quiz central

 

11 responses to “YIKES!

  1. Morgan

    October 3, 2005 at 3:40 pm

    Huh. I got Paris and Bill Gates/Scott Baio, depending on whether I preferred U2 or REM, or ripped jeans or earrings.
    And I said I’d have been a geek, but I did say I wanted the down-to-earth hot guy, so who knows.
    Bill Gates has NEVER been a heartthrob, in this decade or any other.

     
  2. Christina

    October 4, 2005 at 11:36 am

    I had Paris and John Stamos. Funny–I had the HUGEST crush on ole Stamos back in the day! (I think he’s a little pathetic now.)

     
  3. amy

    October 4, 2005 at 12:12 pm

    What’s up with Bill Gates posing all sexily?! Before I saw it was Bill Gates, I was wondering who the cute guy in the picture was. Gross!!!!
    I got London and Scott Baio.

     
  4. ellie

    October 4, 2005 at 9:07 pm

    Scott Baio, heh, what ever happened to him? But yeah, who didn’t have a crush on Uncle Jesse? Oh that sounds so creepy!

     
  5. Morgan

    October 4, 2005 at 11:31 pm

    Um, I didn’t.
    I didn’t watch Full House.
    I DID have a raging crush on the Val Kilmer character in Real Genius, however. And, in fact, his hot nerdiness may have ruined me for real men. Though this does not mean I am interested in a)Val Kilmer himself or b) Bill Gates.

     
  6. ellie

    October 5, 2005 at 12:02 am

    OK, who who was a kid when Full House was on didn’t have a crush on John Stamos. You’re the total wrong demographic. You were probably a too cool for school late teen by then, no? Us dweeby just barely teens were the ones thinking he was so cool! Also, Val Kilmer The Salton Sea? Pretty hot.

     
  7. Morgan

    October 5, 2005 at 12:33 pm

    Who you calling a crusty old lady, there, whippersnapper?????
    Ok, I think Full House came on when I was in… junior high? Fuck, now I must IMDB it. Yeah, 1987. I was only in 9th grade, but yes, I was too cool for that kind of school. My 80’s heartthrob is, was, and always will be Johnny Freaking Depp. Because my main reaction to Nightmare on Elm Street, when I illicitly watched it at the age of ten, was… DON’T KILL THE PRETTY GUY!!!! And I watched many more seasons of 21 Jump Street than I care to admit at this point.
    The problem with that quiz is that it’s not exactly a hypothetical for me… I was an 80’s teen!!!

     
  8. ellie

    October 5, 2005 at 3:13 pm

    Hmm…. I guess I was younger than I thought. Does that mean I had a crush on John Stamos in syndication? ’87 I was 8, that’s too young for crushes, isn’t it? But Johnny Depp is my 90’s and 00’s heartthrob and most likely my 10’s hearthrob as well. He was still off my radar in the 80’s though.

     
  9. anne

    October 10, 2005 at 9:25 am

    Hi there. I found this a few days late but I couldn’t resist taking the quiz and posting the results. I got Jason Bateman, still trying to figure out how.

     
  10. ellie

    October 10, 2005 at 2:41 pm

    I had to go look that up. I didn’t recognize the screen credits, but then I saw a picture and realized he’s the guy I always confuse with Jerry O’Conell. But who was he in the 80’s?

     
  11. Morgan

    October 12, 2005 at 6:30 pm

    Jason Bateman was on the Hogan Family.

     

Leave a Reply

 
