RSS

Nobody’s perfect, especially me.

09 Oct

So here’s this shirt. The shirt that I’m making as a break from Raspy. The shirt where I’m following all the directions exactly and not adjusting anything or making anything up. Well, I messed up. The bottom ribbing is supposed to be twisted ribbing and I forgot to twist it on the other side. Bah! At least it’s not very noticeable. In fact, I don’t expect a single person to notice or remark, “Hey, the bottom front of your shirt is just ever so slightly different from the bottom back of your shirt.” But I know. And it irks me. Of course, it most definitely does not irk me enough to start over.

On a more positive note, as you can see I am mere inches away from moving on to the top ribbing for the second side. Very exciting! I love this yarn and it’s been super fun to knit with. I get extra excited when I get to a green stripe. But 3 of the 4 skeins had breaks in the middle of them. I hate that. Especially because I’m neurotic about making all my breaks occur at an edge, so I keep having to unknit half a row when one of those sneaky little knots shows up. A friend showed me a neat way to join yarn where you don’t have to sew in edges, but I’m not confident enough to try it on my own. So I think I’m going to write them to complain. Very frustrating.

Also, my mind is already wandering to the next project. I’m not ready to go back to Raspy yet. I want to make my first pair of socks, mostly just to join in the fun of Lolly’s Socktober Fest. But my boyfriend has been feeling left out because I haven’t knit him anything. Which technically speaking isn’t true – I knit him a mobius strip scarf. But it’s Austin, so that really doesn’t do him any good. And that was nearly a year ago. I also promised to make him a coral snake just like the one in the pre-blog gallery, but then I used up all the yarn on the second Harry Potter scarf and I gave the book with the pattern in it as part of the gift along with the snake. Of course, that’s no excuse because snakes aren’t hard. He also wanted a Jayne’s hat, but then he didn’t because he wouldn’t wear it, but then he did because it might still be fun, but he wasn’t sure. So I still need the final verdict on that. Of course, the thing I could make him that he’d actually use would be a sweater, but I adamantly refuse to. I’m not generally superstitious, but I love him too much to take any chances on this one. But all of this is good news, because no matter how you look at it, it means YARN SHOPPING! Baby, do you want a pair of socks?

p.s. – Grammar police? Should that title read “especially not me”?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 9, 2005 in knitting

 

6 responses to “Nobody’s perfect, especially me.

  1. Michelle

    October 10, 2005 at 8:28 am

    I really love the colors on this, and I had always looked at that yarn before, but I have only seen it knitted up into a bag. It looks like it’s going to be a great top. Yeah, I wouldn’t undo the ribbing, either, but I rarely fix over my mistakes. Think of it as an intereting diversion. Maybe there’s a part later on in the pattern where you can mix it up again?

     
  2. Lolly

    October 10, 2005 at 9:55 am

    So glad you could join the fun for Socktoberfest! I can’t wait to see what lovely yarns you come away with 🙂

     
  3. ellie

    October 10, 2005 at 2:45 pm

    Michelle – I’m not normally a bright colorful clothing kind of person, but this shirt is just so fun! I really like the yarn too. Definitely too pricey for all the time, but a nicey floppy cotton yarn. It should be pretty comfy.

     
  4. ellie

    October 10, 2005 at 2:47 pm

    Lolly – me neither. Now to just make time to go to the store…

     
  5. Morgan

    October 12, 2005 at 6:29 pm

    It should probably actually be “Especially not I” but no one talks that way.

     
  6. ellie

    October 12, 2005 at 7:33 pm

    I knew I could count on you Morgan.

     

Leave a comment