RSS

I thought Morgan would enjoy this.

17 Oct

I saw this over on Pharyngula, where I get all my sciencey goodness. It’s Scalzi’s list of the most influential science fiction films. Put the ones you’ve seen in bold.

  • The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai Across the 8th Dimension!
  • Akira
  • Alien
  • Aliens
  • Alphaville
  • Back to the Future
  • Blade Runner
  • Brazil
  • Bride of Frankenstein
  • Brother From Another Planet
  • A Clockwork Orange
  • Close Encounters of the Third Kind
  • Contact
  • The Damned
  • Destination Moon
  • The Day The Earth Stood Still
  • Delicatessen
  • Escape From New York
  • ET: The Extraterrestrial
  • Flash Gordon: Space Soldiers (serial)
  • The Fly (1985 version)
  • Forbidden Planet
  • Ghost in the Shell
  • Gojira/Godzilla
  • The Incredibles
  • Invasion of the Body Snatchers (1956 version)
  • Jurassic Park
  • Mad Max 2/The Road Warrior
  • The Matrix
  • Metropolis
  • On the Beach
  • Planet of the Apes (1968 version)
  • Robocop
  • Sleeper
  • Solaris (1972 version)
  • Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan
  • Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope
  • Star Wars Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back
  • The Stepford Wives
  • Superman
  • Terminator 2: Judgement Day
  • The Thing From Another World
  • Things to Come
  • Tron
  • 12 Monkeys
  • 28 Days Later
  • 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea
  • 2001: A Space Odyssey
  • La Voyage Dans la Lune
  • War of the Worlds (1953 version)

I’m also listing them out to remind me to add the ones I haven’t seen (except the ones that sound too scary) to my Netflix queue.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 17, 2005 in quiz central

 

5 responses to “I thought Morgan would enjoy this.

  1. morgan

    October 18, 2005 at 5:37 pm

    Dude. You MUST see Delicatessen. Though, even more importantly, you must see the City of Lost Children, which is one of… maybe five movies I ever saw three times in the theater (I have never seen any movie MORE than three times in the theater). The others, because I know you are wondering, were Return of the Jedi, Ghostbusters, Cold Comfort Farm, and Return of the King. Wow, I really AM a dork. Though, in my defense, the first two were when I was, like, ten.

     
  2. ellie

    October 18, 2005 at 7:25 pm

    Still impressive. I’ve only seen 2 movies in the theatre twice. The Avengers (once on purpose b/c I thought it might be the good kind of hokey and once after I knew it wasn’t the good kind of hokey b/c I was convinced that pain would be less than Ever After) and Eyes Wide Shut.

     
  3. morgan

    October 18, 2005 at 8:11 pm

    Um.
    Those are both movies I barely got through ONCE.
    In the case of Eyes Wide Shut, I kept dozing off, and then found out afterward that a guy three seats down from me was jerking off through the whole thing (the people seated between us were friends of mine). I don’t mean to imply that these events were related. It did, however, quite certainly decrease my interest in trying to watch it again.

     
  4. Michelle

    October 21, 2005 at 5:59 am

    Oh, I like a lot of those movies. I second seeing Delicatessen and the other movies by those guys. And others I would recommend are Brazil, Bride of Frankenstein, Ghost in the Shell, and Metropolis.

     
  5. ellie

    October 21, 2005 at 8:11 am

    Cool, thanks for the recommendations.

     

Leave a Reply

 
