RSS

LYS Rant and finally joining in the Socktober festivities.

17 Oct

I had planned to take my boyfriend to the LYS this weekend to pick out sock yarn, but when I saw the deadline was the 19th, I hopped in the car myself. I know everyone raves and raves about their LYS, but I’ve found that most of my encounters leave something to be desired. My main complaint is that they’re generally expensive and snooty. When I lived in LA, I just figured this went with the territory (the territory of LA, not of knitting), but here I was at my local yarn store asking for help picking a sock yarn to make my very first sock, only I don’t want to use animal products. “Well what do you mean, no animal products?” I explain, no wool, silk, etc. I have apparently just grown 3 heads. Make a sock without wool? It can’t be done. I explain that I know the yarn will have to have nylon or something in it. She relaxes a bit. “That might work.” And leads me to a yarn that is a cotton/lycra blend. It is apparently the only yarn in the whole store that I could conceivably use because she doesn’t offer up any others and adds that it won’t be a very good sock, but it might be ok. Grrrrrr. I’m sticking to Hobby Lobby and the internet from now on. I don’t need yarn snobs looking down their noses as me just because I don’t use wool. I’m not looking down my nose at them for selling it. And they’re looking down their noses while charging me $26!

But I digress…

I have yarn for socks! So Lolly, count me in!

Oh, I’m also utterly unconvinced this is anything like worsted weight (which is what my pattern calls for), but I guess I’ll just see how it knits up. And I hope this lycra is forgiving because it sure is hard to maintain a tension.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 17, 2005 in knitting

 

4 responses to “LYS Rant and finally joining in the Socktober festivities.

  1. Lolly

    October 18, 2005 at 8:05 am

    Ah yes, the yarn snob. You can make socks with any fibers, girl! I think cotton socks are great–the stuff I am using now, Cascade Fixation is a cotton/nylon blend, and you can make a pair for $10–you just need 2 balls.
    Glad you can join the group! 😉

     
  2. ellie

    October 18, 2005 at 8:29 am

    Next time I will definitely do more shopping around! And reading around to see what people have liked. But thanks for the motivation to finally make my first sock.

     
  3. anne

    October 18, 2005 at 6:15 pm

    Boo to the yarn snobs! Hooray to socks! Be careful, though, because they’re ridiculously addictive.

     
  4. ellie

    October 18, 2005 at 7:30 pm

    So I hear. That’s ok though, I know lots of people with feet.

     

Leave a Reply

 
