RSS

Socks are great!

20 Oct

Remember how two days ago I just had a little bit of ribbing done? Well look at me now! I’m really big on having something to show for myself, so this is great. It’s definitely a little big, and sadly my boyfriend has smaller calves than I do, but luckily he loves me dearly and assures me that these are sleepy socks so it’s ok that they’re big. I have also been informed that they’re likely to shrink what with the lycra content and all. Though I am still unsure as to when this shrinking is supposed to take place. You don’t put them in the dryer do you?

In utterly unrelated news, I ran into a name generator and had these results:


Hillbilly
– Your name is Betty Jo Winchester but everyone calls you Dixie.


Viking
– All hail Hrosskell the Marauder. May Odin and Grungir smile upon you.

But see, the thing is, my name is already Ellie Mae, which granted is no Georgia Charlene, but is equal to Betty Jo I think.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 20, 2005 in knitting, quiz central

 

6 responses to “Socks are great!

  1. anne

    October 21, 2005 at 7:36 am

    Your socks look great! And I put mine in the dryer, because I’m lazy.

     
  2. ellie

    October 21, 2005 at 8:10 am

    Thanks! And good to know.

     
  3. morgan

    October 21, 2005 at 3:55 pm

    This isn’t knitting/yarn experience talking, but shopping/laundry experience… I would think that a) you would put them in the dryer, because… well, they’re SOCKS, for heaven’s sake and b)they may shrink a bit if you do, but it’s the cotton that should do the shrinking (unless it’s preshrunk, as many cottons are these days). I think the lycra might actually prevent the shrinking.
    I was always most pleased by the fuzzy quality my wool hiking socks acquired from being tossed in the dryer back in my dorm days. They shrank a bit, but… again, socks. They stretch out again.

     
  4. morgan

    October 21, 2005 at 3:58 pm

    Oh, and…
    Billie Jean Stanton, known as Shawna
    Ivarr the Lawless

     
  5. ellie

    October 21, 2005 at 6:26 pm

    I like your viking name. And yeah, I would think socks could go in the dryer, but then the label on the yarn says dry flat, and you know how I am about following instructions, or rather, doing what one is supposed to do. Some shrinking would be good though. So with two votes, they’re likely to take a tumble unless someone comes screaming to me saying something different.

     
  6. morgan

    October 22, 2005 at 12:07 pm

    You know, I think my sole pair of cashmere knee socks came with that instruction, and I’ve always just tossed them in the dryer, to no perceivable ill effect.

     

Leave a Reply

 
