RSS

In the deep sea news.

21 Oct

Two bits of super coolness I had to share:

First, from Kasha (and BBC News), ‘Zombie worms’ found off Sweden. While I had run into the description before, this was my first glance at the pictures. Too cool! It’s a new species of marine worm that lives off whale bones. Thanks Kasha!

Second, from Deep Sea News, sea spiders are living fossils, basically because “the nerves controlling the pincers originate from the front of the brain, like fossil arthropods, rather than from the mid-brain, like modern arachnids,” in case you don’t want to read the whole three paragraphs, but you should, so check it out.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 21, 2005 in deep sea

 

8 responses to “In the deep sea news.

  1. morgan

    October 22, 2005 at 12:12 pm

    I feel like the “zombie” part of their description is rather a misnomer.
    However, the fact that their scientific name translates to “bone-eating snotflower” is both entertaining and a fine impetus to rededicate myself to the Latin. 🙂

     
  2. ellie

    October 23, 2005 at 6:07 pm

    Yeah, how is that Latin going?

     
  3. Morgan

    October 23, 2005 at 11:15 pm

    Um.
    Despite MY feeling like I’m really not doing as much work as I should be, I’ve been getting A+’s on the quizzes. There’s a midterm wednesday, so we’ll see how that goes.
    I kind of love it.
    I suspect you would, too. It’s more like doing logic puzzles than learning a language.

     
  4. ellie

    October 23, 2005 at 11:22 pm

    I didn’t realize you’re actually taking a class. Where are you taking it? And, yeah, I enjoyed Latin in high school. But I liked Greek much better. That was like cryptography or something. Super-fun.

     
  5. morgan

    October 24, 2005 at 6:39 pm

    I’m taking it at UCLA.
    Dude. Of COURSE you took Latin AND Greek!!! 🙂

     
  6. ellie

    October 24, 2005 at 7:59 pm

    Hehe. I did. Only 1 semester of Greek though, don’t remember a bit of it. Except that Dikaiopolis was a farmer and had a family and a dog and about halfway through the semester the dog faught a wolf and at the end of the semester the family went in to town for the festival. But don’t ask me to say any of that in Greek. Oh, and my mom paid me to take Latin, but I really only took it because a boy I had a crush on was going to take it.

     
  7. PainterWoman

    November 4, 2005 at 8:08 pm

    I thought the pink thingy on the left was a new “fun fur.” Oh well. I only took biology in high school.

     
  8. ellie

    November 6, 2005 at 3:49 pm

    Ha! Wouldn’t that be fun?

     

Leave a Reply

 
