RSS

Finally, another F.O.

07 Nov

Look, look! I finished something.

I actually finished this a while ago, but I just got around to weaving in the loose ends this weekend. So ta-da! I love it, though it is just a little too off the shoulder. But that’s an easy fix. I’ll see if I can snag the boyfriend to help me get a better picture for the gallery. You see what happens when I play with the timer function…

OK, back to the Vikings. Did you know that Viking-Age rune stones (the ones that were great big rocks, typically erected to memorialize the dead) were also considered status symbols that were fashionable among the upper class of the time and may have served to state inheritance rights? Well now you do. And you deduced this because “unlike most medieval grave monuments, that name only the dead, in runic inscriptions the sponsors are mentioned first. The prominence given to sponsors shows that Viking-Age rune stones are equally monuments to the living. To erect a stone was obviously a prestigious act” (Property and Inheritance in Viking Scandinavia: The Runic Evidence by Birgit Sawyer, p. 6).

 
9 Comments

Posted by on November 7, 2005 in knitting

 

9 responses to “Finally, another F.O.

  1. Imbrium

    November 7, 2005 at 3:11 pm

    That’s so cute! I love the colors, though I don’t know if I’d have the courage to wear them….

     
  2. ellie

    November 7, 2005 at 4:36 pm

    Thanks! Yes, it’s very bright. We’ll see how that goes. Despite the bright trendy colors on the blog, I am much more at home in dark denim and black. But I have been known to dabble in orange from time to time.

     
  3. Michelle

    November 7, 2005 at 4:54 pm

    I really love that sweater! I mean L-O-V-E. I know that I really liked it when I clicked on the pattern you were working on, but now that it’s done, I totally want one. Argh! I can’t take another project on right now, but I think it looks super on you. The colors, the fit, even the off-the-shoulder-casualness of it all. Yeah!

     
  4. ellie

    November 7, 2005 at 7:43 pm

    Thanks, I love it too! If it makes you feel any better, I couldn’t have afforded to make it if my mom hadn’t sponsored me. So you can cite price to postpone making your own. On the other hand, if you’re looking for encouragement, I bet it would look great in pink and green. 🙂

     
  5. Lolly

    November 8, 2005 at 7:39 am

    Oh cute! I like the offtheshoulderness of it 😉 so sexy! Looks great!
    Thanks for the Viking tidbit! I know next to nothing about the Vikings…

     
  6. morgan

    November 8, 2005 at 4:13 pm

    So, um… what is it with all the Viking stuff? I think I must have missed something about which classes, exactly, you were taking…
    Somehow, I don’t think of them as being all that into books.

     
  7. ellie

    November 8, 2005 at 4:32 pm

    This semester I am taking:
    *Understanding and Serving Users
    *Historical Museums: Context and Practice
    and
    *Books, Libraries and Civilization to 1500, for which I am doing my term paper on “Writing Forms and Usage During the Viking Age.”
    So very relevant towards my end goal of working in a library, I know. But next semester is 100% practical.

     
  8. morgan

    November 8, 2005 at 8:10 pm

    Well, I think the CLASS sounds awesome.
    But… why Vikings? I mean, they are very interesting, but again, I don’t so much think of the books when I think of them.
    Then again, I probably would have been tempted to write about the era when literacy/possession of a bible by non-clergy was automatically equal to heresy, just for the opportunity to write snarky footnotes.

     
  9. ellie

    November 8, 2005 at 8:38 pm

    The assignment included the example “What are the various theories about Viking record keeping?” And I thought, “Vikings? Cool!” But, yeah, they don’t so very much have any books, per se. Think of it as the civilization part of the course title.

     

Leave a Reply

 
