RSS

Motivation? At least zero, possibly less.

21 Nov

You know how good you feel after you turn in a big paper or finish a big project? And how exciting it is to have vacation time? Well, the Vikings were turned in Friday afternoon and I leave for my parents’ tomorrow. So how much work do you think is getting done in the meantime? Here’s a hint.

Tasks accomplished this weekend:

  • Completed Raspy (pictures later, sorry).
  • Saw Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (where I saw a million previews that I’m now all excited for. I love the winter movie season!)
  • Watched The Good, The Bad and The Ugly (which prompted boyfriend to bump For a Few Dollars More to the top of his Netflix queue. More excitement.)
  • Did a time consuming brainless project for the professor that I TA for. (note that time consuming and brainless was just what I was looking for, so that’s not a complaint.)
  • Played with my new computer.
  • Started a dangerous love affair.
  • Started Panta.

But the term papers for my other 2 classes? … Not so much. The only remotely scholarly thing I’ve done all weekend was read a few articles and complete some paperwork for my Professional Experience Project. Now I had every intention to take the rest of Friday off. Even some goofing Saturday is still reasonable. But this is getting out of control. All I want to do is knit and play video games. Luckily I’m going home and that’s the plan. But in the meantime I’m supposed to be working. Of course all this really means is that I’ll have to work while I’m home. And now. Now would be a good time to start working.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 21, 2005 in other bits of life

 

6 responses to “Motivation? At least zero, possibly less.

  1. Lolly

    November 22, 2005 at 8:10 am

    NOw, that is the weekend I wish I had had… I was working on the scholarly stuff 😦 I can’t wait to see HP!

     
  2. ellie

    November 22, 2005 at 8:23 am

    You were responsible and will be rewarded. I was lazy and will be punished by having to work over my vacation. But, yeah, HP was great fun. And it was a much needed break.

     
  3. katiedid

    November 22, 2005 at 8:28 am

    I traveled over from Nerd Knits.
    Can I assume you’ve already seen A Fistful of Dollars? It’s the prequel to For a Few Dollars More. You probably know that. Clint Eastwood was such a sexy guy back then.
    Good luck with the scholarly stuff!

     
  4. Imbrium

    November 22, 2005 at 10:33 am

    Oh, lordy. World of Warcraft? Are you sure? Dangerous love afair, indeed. I keep flirting with it, but I’m scared to take the plunge. Maybe now that Bradon has a real job (more money for monthly fees, and less available time to sit drooling in front of the computer)…maybe we’ll pick it up.
    I can’t decide if I’m worried for you, or jealous. 🙂 I think it’s jealous.

     
  5. ellie

    November 22, 2005 at 4:38 pm

    I have seen a Fistful of Dollars. Boyfriend and I are in love with spaghetti westerns. Well, we are now anyway.

     
  6. morgan

    November 23, 2005 at 12:15 pm

    … I am SO GLAD that videogames are the one realm in which I am not a Dorky Fourteen Year Old Boy (well, I mean, aside from all the realms in which I am a Snotty Fourteen Year Old Girl). Because whatever OCD tendencies I have REALLY come out in the realm of the consumption of pop culture.
    Have a great weekend, regardless of whether or not you have to work!

     

Leave a Reply

 
