RSS

Blogging at 28.8 Kbps.

26 Nov

Dial up is painful. But here are some pictures anyway. This was the view out my dining room window during Thanksgiving dinner. It was snowing and gorgeous, but I know you can’t really see that in the picture. I love the fall in the woods in Pennsylvania. I have a hard time deciding which is more beautiful, the fall with all the leaves on the ground, or the winter when my whole lane turns into an ice palace. Driving in it is another story, but walking to the bus stop was always breathtaking.

I’ve been running around like crazy catching up with friends and family and not getting any homework done. But hey, which is more important, right? On Thanksgiving, we had dinner with my parents, my brother, his girlfriend and another good friend of ours. Mom made a killer spread with everything vegetarian except for the turkey and the stuffing that came out of the turkey (everyone there was vegetarian excluding Mom and Dad). Subbing in for our turkey we had wheat meat dusted in flour and pan-fried and my favorite teriyaki portabella mushrooms. Also on the menu: glazed sweet potatoes (with marshmallows on 1/3rd for my brother), green beans with slivered almonds, cranberry sauce, corn, mashed potatoes, stuffing, rolls with 2 kinds of homemade jelly (cherry and raspberry), a relish plate (carrots, olives, and celery), and veggie gravy. For dessert, 2 kinds of pie – pumpkin (of course) and my all time favorite pie – ground cherry pie, both available a la mode. Life is good. After dinner, we curled up in the living room for 2 discs of Dr. Who, one with the incomparable Tom Baker and one with Mom’s favorite, John Pertwee. We also got in 2 episodes of the original Star Trek between Dr. Whos. We finished off the night with CSI. Yes, my whole family is a bunch of nerds. I come by it honestly. And I love it. Tomorrow I’m playing Rune: Viking Warlord over at my brother’s. I was doing a google image search on “viking rune” to get pictures for my presentation when I saw that this game existed. But only for PlayStation2 (I have GameCube and Xbox, but no PS2). So my brother bought it. Did I mention my family is the best ever?

In knitting news, I finished my Panta headband on the plane.

I love it. It’s a bit wide, so I think I’ll make my next one narrower, but I am definitely about to embark on a headband spree. I made this one using the leftovers from the sleepy socks and it’s wonderfully elastic. The new yarns I bought are all cotton, so I’ll probably give them ties.

I’ve also finished the back of this knit.1 cardigan for my mom (Mom will have a fully buttoned shirt under hers) and bought a bunch of fun yarn at my cute local yarn store: some pink with a silver sliver through it (evita) to make a clapotis for Mom, a purplish one (Cotton Patine) for a headband for me and a make your own pink and green for another headband. The make your own was super fun. They had all these cones and you could combine them to get it up to the weight you want. It’s not really twisted together, it’s more like holding 4 strands of yarn at once, but it’s pink and green! The only problem is that I remembered wrong about how much yarn I would need for the clapotis. I thought it was 3 skeins of 100 yards, but it was 100 grams, so I need to go back and get more yarn for that. Darn, another trip to the yarn store.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 26, 2005 in knitting, other bits of life

 

5 responses to “Blogging at 28.8 Kbps.

  1. anne

    November 26, 2005 at 9:47 am

    Nice yarn haul. The part about your mom wearing a fully-buttoned shirt made me laugh. 🙂

     
  2. atouria

    November 30, 2005 at 8:49 am

    I love your Panta! This is definitely on my to do list! I may alter the pattern a bit so I can use Rowan’s Calmer. I like the ‘bounce’ that it has. I wish it came in a charcoal color like yours though! Can you tell me what yarn that was specifically? I love it!

     
  3. ellie

    November 30, 2005 at 2:21 pm

    Yeah, I love it too! Thanks. The yarn is “Classic Elite Yarns: Star”, which is 99% cotton and 1% lycra, so it was great for a headband. I measured my head at 20″ and made the headband 18″ to allow for stretch. I think I should have made it even a little shorter.

     
  4. PainterWoman

    December 1, 2005 at 1:40 am

    Loved the Librarian warnings… Your PA visit sounds wonderful…. Thanksgiving is best when you get to travel and you don’t have all the house guests at your own house, don’t you think?

     
  5. ellie

    December 1, 2005 at 9:35 am

    Glad you enjoyed them. And yes, I totally agree.

     

Leave a Reply

 
