RSS

Friday Cat Blogging. (WIP Edition)

02 Dec

As promised, here are the knitting updates. And since B couldn’t stay out of the shots we’ll call it Friday Cat Blogging too.

First up is the Clapotis:

Hopefully blocking will make it line up better, but this is just beautiful. Everyone says so when they see me working on it. It’s soft too. I’m sure it will make my mom feel very hip. I can’t wait to give it to her.

Also for mom is the knit.1 cardigan:

It kinda got pushed to the side when I got the Clapotis yarn. But I’m going to pick it back up soon since it’s the “official” Christmas present.

I’ve started making a headband out of that custom yarn:

I’m just doing a basic 6 stitch cable with 2 stitches of reverse stockinette and 1 stitch of garter on each side of the cable. It was really hard to photograph. I’ll make sure to do this one in natural light once it’s finished.

And finally, no longer a WIP, is Raspy:

Not exactly the cute tight hipster fit it was supposed to be, but I’m keeping it as a comfy loungy sweater. I really like the sleeve length, I can cuff it if I need my hands and pull it down over them the rest of the time. I’m also totally in love with the drop stitches. Here’s a cuter shot:

That’s my stash in the background, complete with my poor abandoned octopus. I’ll finish him someday…

 
12 Comments

Posted by on December 2, 2005 in friday cat blogging, knitting

 

12 responses to “Friday Cat Blogging. (WIP Edition)

  1. Lolly

    December 2, 2005 at 7:25 am

    That is SO cute, Ellie! I love the Raspy. I think it is very cute and hipster on you!
    Love that custom yarn head band too. What yarn is it?

     
  2. ellie

    December 2, 2005 at 9:17 am

    It’s custom! It was on cones at the LYS near my parents. 4 strings make it worsted weight and I picked 2 pink and 2 green. It’s 100% cotton. Don’t know if it had a brand or not and I didn’t get a label. I think it’s more often used for weaving. Thanks for the complements!

     
  3. anne

    December 2, 2005 at 10:30 am

    Raspy looks great! Maybe you’re just a lot smaller than the model…? And it’s nice to see that you’ve got kitty “help” with Clapotis.

     
  4. ellie

    December 2, 2005 at 10:58 am

    Anne you’re so sweet! I feel pretty confident saying the model is probably about half my size. My inability to plug the correct shrinkage percentages into equations resulted in a very baggy sweater, that luckily I still love. And, yeah, kitty “helped” quite a bit. Every time I tried to lift her out of the picture she took the Clapotis with her. 🙂

     
  5. Imbrium

    December 2, 2005 at 1:16 pm

    Wow…Raspy looks so comfy…where is the pattern from? (Did you mention this earlier? Did I miss it?)
    Also, what yarn are you knitting Clapotis with? (Ooh, preposition at the end of a sentence…bad me.) You’ve got me fascinated with the concept of vegan yarn….
    (So many parentheses….and ellipses…)

     
  6. ellie

    December 2, 2005 at 2:11 pm

    The Raspy pattern is from Rowan Denim People. (I used sugar n’ cream yarn hence all the substitution issues and the big baggy sweater.) For the Clapotis I’m using Evita, maybe by Sitron or Zitron? The first letter is so stylized I’m not sure.

     
  7. morgan

    December 2, 2005 at 11:07 pm

    You are a knitting goddess.
    I am not worthy.
    However, I have procured for you an exciting gifty. Did you ever send me your mailing address? I have been what the kids call dazed and confused the past couple of weeks, so I may have missed it.

     
  8. ellie

    December 3, 2005 at 11:09 am

    Thanks Morgan! The addy is in the email. Hope you’re doing well.

     
  9. Michelle

    December 4, 2005 at 3:37 pm

    Great projects Ellie!

     
  10. Sam

    December 6, 2005 at 2:00 am

    This looks like the begining of the world’s itchiest G-string

     
  11. ellie

    December 6, 2005 at 11:15 pm

    Lovely Sam, thanks for that image. n’t.

     
  12. atouria

    December 7, 2005 at 9:05 am

    Raspy looks super cute on you! I love the length of it. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
