RSS

Blogging at the airport

20 Dec

Because that’s when I have time. So yeah, life. Got away from me again. But in a good way this time. Last weekend the good friends with the cute kid were in town. We ate, we gamed, we tickled, we gamed a whole lot more, we took sock on and off of our feet and hands innumerable times and made them say “hello.” We gamed some more. We had three computers going. I love being a geek and having geek friends. Life was good. We did not knit (much). Last night boyfriend and I had a superfun last day together before I’m gone for 2 weeks. We went out to one of our favorite restaurant/coffee shops for lunch and geeking (Austin has free wireless everywhere and we’re rarely without our laptops). Then we came back to my place while I finished up last minute stuff and we watched Home Movies (his Christmas present from me) and laughed like only Brendon, Melissa, and Jason can make us laugh. We had dinner out at our favorite local restaurant and ordered many delicious things to share. I love sharing. I love getting to taste seven different things. So this was a big treat for me since we usually just get our own meals. Also, I just realized that both of those restaurants are totally vegetarian. I am, but the boyfriend is not. But he sure is accommodating. Thanks love!

And then the big finale! We saw the Trans-Siberian Orchestra. If you have never heard of them you’re missing out. It’s a holiday extravaganza, metal rock opera style, light show included. The thing I don’t quite get is apparently EVERYONE loves them. Not just nerds like me. Grandma, grandpa, Kevin’s mom, my professors, my coworkers, everyone. To get a taste of what it’s like check out this video. It’s not them, but it is their music set to cool effects. Don’t be fooled by the “sign up” links on the main part of the page, the video is at the top and you don’t have to do anything but click it.

Ok, knitting. I have knitting ADD. I keep jumping from one project to another. And you know how I was complaining about having so many going? Well, I started another one! I’m nearly done the Clapotis, but I’m going to run out of yarn. Hopefully the PA lys will have some more, otherwise I guess I’ll have to frog and take some out of the middle. The socks were coming along nicely. Then I broke one of the needles. That I had borrowed from a friend. So that meant a trip to the grumpy Austin lys for a new pair of bamboo needles for my friend and a new pair of metal ones for me. While I was waiting around with no socks to knit I started this headband. I’m knitting it off the other end of the ball so I can see how much yarn it takes and then finish the other headband with the rest of the yarn. Clever no?

So that’s what’s new with me. Sorry it’s been so long. And now I’m retreating to 28.8Kbps dial up land, so the posts are likely to remain sparse for the holidays. But you’re probably busy doing your own thing anyway.

Coming attractions: Mom modeling her Christmas gifts! Headbands! A Teddy Bear.

Stay tuned.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 20, 2005 in knitting, other bits of life

 

4 responses to “Blogging at the airport

  1. Imbrium

    December 20, 2005 at 4:17 pm

    So much pretty knitting going on!
    Isn’t the accomodating boyfriend thing wonderful? Bradon’s a carnivore, but he goes out of his way to cook things I’ll eat and take me to restaurants where I can find something appetizing. Our first Christmas together he put “vegetarian cookbooks” on his wish list, so he could find things to cook for me. All together now: “Awwwww!” 😀
    I hope you have a wonderful, fantabulous holiday!

     
  2. ellie

    December 20, 2005 at 6:57 pm

    Awwwwww! and thanks! a wonderful, fantabulous holiday to you too! Too many exclamation points.

     
  3. Ruth

    December 30, 2005 at 8:03 am

    Sounds like a perfect holiday to me. And I really like the solid Jaywalkers … I think that’s the first pair I’ve ever seen.

     
  4. ellie

    January 1, 2006 at 10:15 pm

    Thanks! It was a wonderful sendoff – I can’t wait to get back.

     

Leave a Reply

 
