RSS

I love the break!

22 Dec

I’m home. Home is good. It’s warm and cozy and has my family. It’s especially comfy this time round because I took my mom’s advice and went to the doctor and got allergy medication before I came home. I love my family to death, but the dust in this place is out of control. We’ve lived in the same house since before I was born and we keep everything. You never know when you might need that particular item 15 years from now and if you throw it away you’ll just be kicking yourself tomorrow. I’m not complaining. Many is the time that I have been the recipient of said not thrown away item. This time round I’m getting a pair of computer speakers.

Total aside: My parents are redoing some of their rooms now that my brother and I are out of the house. My mom has claimed my brother’s room as her office. My room will become the guest room eventually and the guest room (which is in a serious state of disaster currently) will become my dad’s office. My dad and I were chatting about all the old computers he has (we’re talking working Commodore 64s here) and how he should totally set them up all along the walls of his new office. He was joking, but I was serious. We got a big frown from Mom, but I think it’s a great idea. They’re all just sitting around collecting dust anyway; at least if they’re on display they’ll get cleaned. But more importantly, I think it would be so cool to have all those old computers lined up chronologically to see the evolution, and a great decor for a systems engineer. He probably has something older than a Commodore 64m that’s just the first one I remember. I think I’m extra excited about it having just finished course entitled Historical Museums: Context and Practice.

Of course the most relevant best thing about home is that I get lots of knitting done. I am totally in love with the Panta pattern. It knits up so fast and cute. This one is 100% cotton and I was planning on sewing some elastic at the join, but I think the stitch work is stretchy enough that it doesn’t seem to matter that the cotton is not particularly stretchy. I think I’m going to make my next one narrower though. I want to start doing what Lolly does with her F.O.s and I have good honest intentions of finally posting all my recent F.O.s into the photo album.

Yarn: From my lys in PA, Lamb’s Wool. I think it’s supposed to be for weaving, but I overheard someone saying they could wind it together to any size, so I jumped. 2 strands of pink and 2 strands of green got me to worsted weight.
Needles: Size 5 metal straights
Pattern: Panta from Craftster.org. It’s hard to find the pattern on their site, so if you’re dying for an MS Word version, let me know.

Also, I’ve finished a sleeve for my mom’s sweater. It may not be done in time for Christmas, but that’s ok. Mom will have it before I leave and that’s what really matters. She helped pick out the yarn, so it’s not like it’s a surprise or anything. Oh, and speaking of not surprises for Mom, she got her first glimpse at the Clapotis (which definitely needs more yarn – a trip to the store is planned for tomorrow) and she LOVES it. She had to go hold it up by a mirror and hugged it and generally ooh-ed and ah-ed. It’s so nice to get all that appreciation. She and my boyfriend will continue to get many knitted things for a long time.

And speaking of my boyfriend, look! I’ve been coveting these silly antiquey knitting doodads for a while now, and he got me this one just in time for my plane trip. It made it through security in my knitting bag with no questions asked. He also got me a gaming keyboard so my station at his apartment is now complete. We only have to bring my actual computer back and forth. He has an extra monitor, all the cords, etc. and now I have the fancy keyboard and speakers. Can I say I love being a geek (and being with a geek)? Life is good. There will be more fun knitting related gifts when I get back.

I’m off to bed, but I have intentions of doing Grumperina’s meme soon. And I signed up for Secret Pal 7! I’m so excited!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 22, 2005 in knitting, other bits of life

 

5 responses to “I love the break!

  1. Lolly

    December 22, 2005 at 7:02 am

    Home for the holidays! How nice 😉
    I have that same antiquey necklace on my wishlist – wonder if I got one… if not, I think I am gonna spring for one myself. I love them!
    Your Panta is great. I have this on my list. It is another necessity knit – I really need an earwarmer… my ears were so cold in the below zero temps out there today!
    Love the idea of a gallery. It is so helpful for me to go back and remember yarn info, techniques, etc. I think typepad has one available? I have seen it on other typepad users’ blogs…
    Best holiday wishes to you and your family, Ellie!!

     
  2. anne

    December 22, 2005 at 8:50 am

    Yeah, my gifts are not likely to be done in time for Christmas either, but people seem to be okay with it. Enjoy your time at home!

     
  3. katiedid

    December 22, 2005 at 10:16 am

    Wow, I thought those necklace string-cutter things weren’t allowed on the plane. Cheers for getting past!
    Your Panta looks great. I’ve been thinking of Panta but I really need something that doesn’t squash down my bangs – haven’t found anything yet.
    Anyway, Happy Holidays!

     
  4. Imbrium

    December 22, 2005 at 11:36 am

    Mmm…geek love. Isn’t it a beautiful thing?
    I will happily take you up on your MS Word Panta pattern – yours looks so cute! I look pretty silly in most hats, so I think Panta might be just the thing.
    Happy holidays! Enjoy your family…I miss mine desperately!

     
  5. ellie

    December 23, 2005 at 12:17 am

    Thanks for all the well wishes.
    Lolly – Yes, typepad does have a very handy gallery feature. Mine right now has one lonely picture of cat toys. Shame on me. But soon remedied.
    Imbrium – Yup, geek love is the best! Pattern’s in the email.

     

Leave a Reply

 
