RSS

Holiday Picture Extravaganza

25 Dec

And a meme. First the meme. This one is from Grumperina.

“Who knows about your knitting and your knitting blog, and what are your reasons for revealing (or not) its existence to these folks?”

Basically the whole world knows about my knitting and my blog. I knit everywhere. There are people who approach me in the halls at school asking if I’m the one who sends out those knitting emails, or come up to me after class with an, “Oh, so you’re Ellie. The knitter.” Friends and family, certainly know about my blog. Many of them aren’t big on the internet, or aren’t big on blogs, so they don’t read it, but I sent the URL to the majority of my address book when I started this up. Part of the reason I’m doing this is to stay in touch with my friends on either coast. I actually wish a few more of my “real life” friends would say hi from time to time. I don’t really have a boss or coworkers in the typical sense, but I don’t have any intention of advertising the address in that setting. But I also don’t plan to write about anything that would get me in trouble. The person you don’t want to find out will find out, so you better write with the expectation that they’re reading it. That’s my theory. I’m not concerned about the people I know finding me online. I’m more worried about people I don’t know finding me in real life.

And on that note, my mom wanted to remain faceless too. So here she is modeling her beautiful new Clapotis. I think you can tell from that picture on the right that she’s just tickled pink. I wish you could see her smile though. She’s beaming.

Also, after Friday’s setback with the Jaywalkers, today it was full steam ahead. Mostly. I got to the kitchener stitch, which I had no problems with when I made the sleepy socks, but it just didn’t look right this time. I was following the directions from Stitch n’ Bitch Nation and they were just plain wrong. So I hopped online and got the real directions. Voila! A finished sock. Now to conquer the dreaded second sock syndrome. But first I’ll be casting on for Baby Bobbi Bear and a hat for myself. Birthdays and necessity take precedence.

Lastly, I finished my simple cable headband today. It’s impossible to take a good picture of this thing, so this will have to do. I don’t love it. And it needs better ties, those are just the tails plaited. Cabling for the first time wasn’t hard, but it wasn’t fun either. The yarn is really stiff, so I imagine it would be easier with a more flexible yarn. And the color is so busy you don’t really make out the cable. But overall it’s still kind of cute.

Yarn: A make your own. It was on cones (for weaving I think) at the LYS near my parents. 4 strings make it worsted weight and I picked 2 pink and 2 green. It’s 100% cotton. It’s not really twisted together, it’s more like holding 4 strands of yarn at once, but it’s pink and green!

Pattern: No pattern. It’s a 6 stitch cable with 2 stitches of reverse stockinette on each side and 1 stitch of garter on the outer edges to prevent curling.

Needles: Size 5 straights

Oh! And a final note – I’m off to visit extended family in Ohio til Friday and may or may not have access to adequate dial up time and free time to post, so if I’m not on beforehand, Happy New Year!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 25, 2005 in knitting

 

4 responses to “Holiday Picture Extravaganza

  1. me, Mavis

    December 27, 2005 at 12:13 pm

    Your Jaywalkers are kickin!!! Good job! (and thanks for the heads up on the lentil soup in my new cookbook) 🙂

     
  2. Imbrium

    December 27, 2005 at 12:30 pm

    Your clapotis is just beautiful…I’m really going to have to get around to knitting that one of these days.
    Glad you had a good holiday, and a happy New Year to you, too!

     
  3. ellie

    December 27, 2005 at 9:41 pm

    Thanks guys!

     
  4. Roxanne

    January 3, 2006 at 2:52 pm

    Wonderful socks…nice job!

     

Leave a Reply

 
