RSS

Happy New Year

01 Jan

And good riddance to 2005. It was not my bff. But that’s ok because now there’s 2006. I thought I’d share my family’s New Year’s Day tradition since I have only recently learned it’s not universal. We have pork and sauerkraut (or in my case seitan and sauerkraut), usually with mashed potatoes and peas, but that’s not part of the superstition. Something about pigs rooting ahead and cabbage being green for money. My boyfriend said he grew up with a similar story, but a different food – black eyed peas. My brother and his girlfriend are starting their own – pizza and a movie. So what’s your New Year’s tradition? (Let me know in the comments if you do a post on it.)

In knitting news, I’m making progress on the Baby Bobbi Bear. He just needs ears and a face. He’s a little wonky though. I can’t decide whether to gift him or call him practice and make another on smaller needles. His stuffing shows through a little. Poor thing. He sure is soft and cuddly though.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 1, 2006 in knitting, other bits of life

 

6 responses to “Happy New Year

  1. katiedid

    January 3, 2006 at 9:06 am

    Whoa, he looks kind of creepy without a face! But I’ve read the next post already and see that he is really cute once the embroidery is done. 🙂

     
  2. anne

    January 3, 2006 at 9:59 am

    Yeah, blackeyed peas for luck and collard greens for money. But much of my family (not me) hates collards, so spinach is often substituted. Happy New Year!

     
  3. Lolly

    January 3, 2006 at 8:54 pm

    The whole black-eyed peas and collards is in my family too – also red beans and rice. Didn’t have either this year though… I hope it is not bad luck!
    I love sauerkraut – can’t get enough. Seitan is darn good too 😉

     
  4. ellie

    January 3, 2006 at 10:48 pm

    Lolly, I don’t think you’re in danger, but my mom might argue. She’s a stickler for tradition. One (pre-vegetarian) year when I was out of town I appeased her with pork fried rice that had cabbage (or at least something like it) in it. But she seriously called me New Years Day to make sure I was getting my pork and sauerkraut. Gotta love moms!

     
  5. morgan

    January 6, 2006 at 2:56 pm

    The black-eyed peas/ greens combo is often called “hoppin’ jack” or “hoppin’ john” and seems to be primarily a southern tradition. I first had it at my friend Marci’s house up in MN, but she was from Oklahoma, and thus more southern than she ever cops to.

     
  6. Amy

    January 7, 2006 at 2:57 pm

    My family grew up with the pork & sauerkraut tradition as well (most years with the mashed potatoes & peas also). My Dad was raised on the tradition & I believe it is a Pennsylvania Dutch one. Now that I’m on my own I find I continue the traditional New Year’s meal too. I much prefer this New Year’s meal to the traditional Southern one. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
