RSS

And the F.O.s keep rolling in.

03 Jan

Today we have Mom’s knit.1 cardigan.

(Can you tell we had fun with the photo shoot?)

Pattern: “One Button Cardigan” from knit.1: spring/summer 2005
Yarn: Lion Brand Homespun, 98% acrylic, 2% polyester, 3+ skeins, 6oz/185yrds each.
Needles: Size 8 from my Denise kit
Notes: This pattern called for size 10s, but I needed to use the 8s to get gauge. Weird. It was smooth sailing until I cast off on the sleeves too tightly then sewed the whole thing up, all the while knowing the arms would be too tight. So out they came and after and mildly frustrating re-do, it’s a hit! Mom says it’s super warm and comfy. This is the second time I made this pattern. The first one was with a ribbon yarn for myself that I wear as my work uniform. (We have to wear purple.) I really like the finished look, but I hate picking up about 200 stitches to do the border.

In non-knitting news, I went out to eat tonight at a Mediterranean restaurant. One of those fixed price, seven course deals that is an event more than a meal. Most of our group called out sick, and the three of us that made it to the restaurant realized that this is probably the 8th or 9th year in a row that we’ve gone over the holidays. We started towards the end of high school or maybe just after high school. The waiter remembers us every time we go and remembers we have vegetarians in the group and a 15% off coupon. He gives us 15% off even when we forget our coupon. We only go once, maybe twice a year. We obviously love this guy. And we all made each other feel old. He was just out of college when we started going. Now he’s in his early 30s. How time flies!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 3, 2006 in knitting, other bits of life

 

6 responses to “And the F.O.s keep rolling in.

  1. katiedid

    January 4, 2006 at 8:30 am

    Pretty cardigan! I wish my friends and I had cool traditions like that. Glad you had a good time!

     
  2. Imbrium

    January 4, 2006 at 12:11 pm

    That cardigan is totally cute. I admire your persistence in redoing the sleeves…I mean, I would have redone them too, but I would have complained a lot more. 😉

     
  3. Lolly

    January 4, 2006 at 2:58 pm

    Very nice, Ellie! It looks like a good fit for your mom too 😉

     
  4. Amanda Perez

    January 4, 2006 at 5:00 pm

    Your cardigan came out so great! I love the color. I have that pattern and thought about giving it a whirl myself.
    Great Job…
    Amanda

     
  5. ellie

    January 4, 2006 at 10:21 pm

    Thanks so much guys!

     
  6. morgan

    January 6, 2006 at 3:01 pm

    Wow, you’re becoming SuperKnitter! Color me impressed.
    On the color note…. purple? You… have to wear purple to work? I think you must have some new job of which I am unaware.
    Did you get a FedEx from me ever? ‘Twas sent before the holidays, but I’m not sure when you took off.

     

Leave a Reply

 
