RSS

Progress?

13 Jan

Today was uneventful. I worked all afternoon and talked with the woman I T.A. for who is also my advisor for all three of my independent studies. She’s been very supportive and I have a couple of options if I choose to re-arrange my schedule to make it easier and/or less Austin-centric. I only need two classes to graduate, but I need three to keep my T.A. appointments (read: financial aid and salary). I’d like to make this semester as scholastically easy on myself as possible since it’s going to be tough emotionally and I need to be job hunting. Right now I’m leaning towards signing up for an advanced reference course. It will give me a set time and place to be once a week, interaction with classmates, hopefully not too much work, and is actually something I want to do. Another option would be completely mindless, super easy, no stress, no homework, but alone in an office in front of a computer probably about 10 hours a week. I could also continue as planned with an Austin area public library focused independent study. It’s a tough decision and I’ve been advised not to make any decisions for 48 hours. Probably a good idea since my first idea was to drop out and see if I could get my old L.A. job back. (Yes Morgan, I know I could. You rock.) Or drop out and go live with my brother and his girlfriend. They have a friend who thinks I’m cute you know? But, no, I’m going to finish my degree. I’m nothing if not rational. (Sometimes too rational.) I left L.A. for a reason. Actually a few reasons. So here’s to moving forward, not running back.

Speaking of moving forward. Here is my progress on the adorable two year old’s scarf. I’m not sure what to do with it. The teddy bear was in the mail from PA along with one of those touch and feel books about the ocean and one of those big blocks with holes in lots of shapes and then blocks in those shapes. So he’s pretty hooked up IMO. And considering I may never see him again, it’s a little sad to work on the scarf. I may just give the yarn to a friend. But I’m waiting on all decisions for 48 hours.

In the meantime I started a washcloth for myself. I want to make it into one of those scrunchy shower poofy thingies (which I can’t think of without thinking of that old commercial for a liquid bath soap with the big football player talking to his shower poof “But Ernie, what’s with this thingy?” then being all tough and manly about how good his liquid shower soap is and how poofs are the best for lather), but I’m not entirely sure how one goes about doing that. I didn’t make much progress on it because we actually had two brand new people at knitting tonight, both of them needing beginner’s lessons. That was actually pretty fun. And I got to talk to friends about my class options. Three of the people there had taken a reference class with this teacher and had good things to say, so I’m leaning that way. Plus I now have plans for Friday, Saturday, and Monday night. Friends are good, no? Hopefully I can get in a hand of Gloom. Or even better, Milles Borne.

Tomorrow I’m going grocery shopping and cooking up a storm. I’ll try to remember to take pictures because I’m going to make the best Mexicali salad ever. It’s going to have so much avocado, lime, and cilantro. I can’t wait.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 13, 2006 in knitting, other bits of life

 

3 responses to “Progress?

  1. Imbrium

    January 13, 2006 at 11:18 am

    I know I’ve seen a pattern…where was that…ah, here it is: http://knitty.com/ISSUEspring04/PATTbonbon.html I’m not sure if you’d want to frog the dishcloth for it, but for future reference….
    Congratulations on having the good sense to hold off on decisions…I’m usually the type to go off half-cocked (or completely uncocked) and do something stupid which makes everything worse. I know you’ll make the right decisions when the time comes.

     
  2. ellie

    January 13, 2006 at 11:40 am

    Thanks for the link! I’d seen it, but it just says use the whole ball of yarn without giving any dimensions. I suppose I can figure it out though. It does give gauge. I hadn’t noticed that before.

     
  3. stephanie

    January 13, 2006 at 2:14 pm

    Milles Borne. The. Best. Game. Ever!

     

Leave a Reply

 
