RSS

To the frog pond and fast!

15 Jan

I hung out with friends last night and had such a blast. I made it to a restaurant I had never been to where we had lots of good laughs over the waiter’s excessive use of y’all. And he told us all of our choices were muy bien. But I wish I could convey tonality better in print. Imagine you’ve never heard of the Spanish language in your life and try to say that in English. With a Texan drawl. Affected by someone making fun of Texans. We had fun. I got to see tons of my friend’s new knitting books, storage, swift, and stash. We played some X-Men Legends, watched some anime, watched some little brothers’ films, and just hung out. Oh and talked about all our fashion choices K-12. There were points I was laughing so hard I cried. That was nice. I got a bunch of knitting done, or rather I went through a lot of yarn. Then I realized this would never become a mobius strip scarf at that rate. So I’ll have to frog it and go again on much bigger needles. This was on 8s, so I’m thinking 11s. You can’t tell from the picture, but I’m knitting from both ends and I’ve already used half the skein.

And the most exciting part of the night? I got a call from my brother who was hanging out in Atlantic City for the weekend, debated whether to be rude to my friends and answer it mid video game, did, and I’m so glad. My brother and his girlfriend just got engaged! Congratulations guys! I am so happy for them. It helps that I totally love his girlfriend fiancée. She has totally been there for me through all my boy talk for over two years now. And there’s been plenty. Thanks T! And congratulations! I’m so happy to have you for a sister.

Drunken Argyle coming soon. I finally printed the chart and I’ve borrowed some size 1s, so I should be casting on soon. I’m a little nervous about it being rated “extra spicy,” so wish me luck.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2006 in knitting, other bits of life

 

3 responses to “To the frog pond and fast!

  1. Kasha

    January 15, 2006 at 5:54 pm

    What excellent news! Congrats to My Brother John and hooray for getting a kickass road-tested sister!

     
  2. Imbrium

    January 16, 2006 at 10:48 am

    It sounds like your night of fun is just what you needed. Congratulations to your brother and his fiancee!
    (Oh, and of course, a ginormous THANK YOU for putting a big, stupid grin on my face for the whole weekend…guess what arrived on Friday?! SQUEE!)

     
  3. Morgan

    January 17, 2006 at 2:49 pm

    Size 1? Holy moly.
    I think I may have told you about the many, many Chinese ladies I saw knitting up storms with the tiniest of tiny needles. They were creating sweaters that one would never imagine could be made by hand, just because it would be so. Very. Time-Consuming. For normal knitting humans, at least. I did some gaping, I have to say.

     

Leave a Reply

 
