RSS

Goodies!

21 Jan

First things first. Look what my Secret Pal sent me!

First off there are three skeins of self striping vegan sock yarn! In such a beautiful green. Along with three new sock patterns. Then there are two bars of tasty (yes, this has been verified already) organic dark chocolate, a sweet card, and a lovely necklace and pair of earrings. Thank you so much Secret Pal! It’s all so wonderful. I’m excited to try the sock yarn, but I need to cast on for the Drunken Argyle first. I plan to a bit later tonight. Which brings us to the next batch of goodies.

Today I went to the American Library Association’s Midwinter conference in San Antonio. I had wanted to knit on the way, but first I had to fill in my friend on all the latest events in my life. This required much concentration. But she was absolutely fantastic to talk to and I’m already feeling so much better from it. (Apparently I’ve pushed past denial and on to anger, so moving on must be just around the corner. It’s funny the things you don’t notice about yourself until someone points out how you’re acting.) But then my regular cast on just wasn’t going as perfectly as I wanted and I don’t actually know how to cast on any other way. I had meant to look up the provisional tubular cast on before I left, but I just hadn’t been up for it last night, then I overslept this morning, and you know how it goes… And this is my daddy’s vest, so it needs to be perfect (right Imbrium?) so I didn’t knit. I only went to the exhibits section, and boy do those vendors give away a bunch of stuff. And I was very restrained in what I actually walked off with. I drove down with a friend and we met another for lunch. So it was a nice day for that alone. But then, look at this:

I loved this one because I have an Edison Quote taped to my printer too. It says:

“Thomas Edison made 2,000 attempts before he perfected the light bulb. ‘How do you tolerate all those failures?’ he was asked. ‘What failures?’ he replied. ‘Now I know 2,000 ways it doesn’t work!’ Instead of seeing things in terms of successes and failures, see them as experiments. Remember, there is no failure, just information.”

Here’s the main haul (I assume you all know you can click the images to enlarge them, but I wanted to mention it for this one.):

Then here’s a close up of a Google pin. It lights up and flashes lots of colors. It’s fun.

Last up, here’s a close up of my favorites:

Hmm… I wonder what Ellie’s interests are? The first book there is Team Moon: How 400,000 People Landed Apollo 11 on the Moon. The second is God’s Warriors: Crusaders, Saracens, and the Battle for Jerusalem. The third is Celestial Sampler: 60 Small-Scope Tours for Starlit Nights. It shows you cool things to look at in the night sky with your home telescope. I had a blast talking to that vendor about amateur astronomy. I’m definitely taking that book back to my parents’ place. They live in the woods (read beautiful clear night sky with no light pollution) and have a telescope. I can’t wait. The bottom three are little pocket guides on The Universe, Space Exploration, and Stars. I bumped into another friend there who had also picked up the one on the Universe. As he put it, “I picked up the biggest thing in the smallest packaging.”

Such goodies.

Lastly, but certainly not least Miss Kasha, is my adorable little string witch. (Adorable from the side, really mean looking head on.) Thanks Kasha!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 21, 2006 in other bits of life

 

7 responses to “Goodies!

  1. kasha

    January 22, 2006 at 4:41 am

    Librarian swag. Nice. Your new books look nerd-tastic!
    I saw the scary string witch and I thought: super cute, but kind of creepy and horrible–ELLIE!! I know you’ll take that the right way. (And it is all one string, representing the theory that I will never discuss with you. Bahahaha!)

     
  2. ellie

    January 22, 2006 at 1:03 pm

    Thanks Kashsa. I do take it the right way. But there’s a theory you won’t discuss with me? I’m hurt. 😉

     
  3. kasha

    January 22, 2006 at 11:23 pm

    The string theory that I am waaaaay too dumb to discuss with you!

     
  4. ellie

    January 22, 2006 at 11:50 pm

    Boy am I slow. Heh. That’s all right. I can only discuss it with someone who’s explaining it to me. So I can’t discuss it with you either. So we’re even.

     
  5. Imbrium

    January 23, 2006 at 12:09 pm

    A library conference? Sounds like heaven…

     

Leave a Reply

 
