RSS

Yum!

23 Jan

I tell you what. I sure have a heck of a lot more free time now that I’m single. Today I went to an appointment in the morning, got my car washed, stopped by the grocery store, came home for lunch and internetting, headed up to school for an alumni speaker event, worked for my professor for 5 hours and still got home in time to do two loads of laundry, clean my apartment, cook my favorite Indian Spiced Lentil Soup (from Vegan Planet) and make a basmati rice pilaf with roasted peanuts and cilantro (from the Real Food Daily cookbook), and run the dishwasher! (btw – Both of those cookbooks totally rock, but a word of warning – the Real Food Daily one is definitely more complex and uses weirder ingredients. Real Food Daily the restaurant is just about the best ever. Another point for L.A.)

Today’s cooking plus the tortilla soup I made a few days ago means my fridge and freezer are packed with delicious homemade goodness to feed me for weeks. Huzzah! I knit a little bit at the car wash, but nothing worth showing. They were pretty speedy. But hey, the night is still so young! I’m debating between trying to get some work done and just relaxing and starting school work tomorrow. I’m thinking relaxing is going to win. It’s been a long day!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 23, 2006 in other bits of life

 

7 responses to “Yum!

  1. katiedid

    January 24, 2006 at 9:16 am

    That looks delicious! Have you ever thought of sharing some of your wonderful recipes? *hint hint*

     
  2. Imbrium

    January 24, 2006 at 10:19 am

    Oooh, I second Katie…recipes, please! I’m always looking for more good vegetarian dishes.
    And aren’t those ridiculously productive days wonderful? The reason for the productivity may suck, but at least you can find something good in a bad situation.

     
  3. ellie

    January 24, 2006 at 12:47 pm

    I’m so sorry! They’re not my recipes to share. I’ll link to the cookbooks though.

     
  4. Lolly

    January 24, 2006 at 1:36 pm

    Indian food is always so fabulous – my absolute favorite food.
    Looks delish!

     
  5. katiedid

    January 26, 2006 at 3:22 pm

    Links to cookbooks work fine for me! Whenever I try to buy new cookbooks, I stand there reading them and can never figure out which I’d use more… so I don’t buy one.

     
  6. ellie

    January 30, 2006 at 3:49 pm

    Yeah, I definitely recommend all the ones I listed. I love them!

     

Leave a Reply

 
