RSS

Weekend update.

30 Jan

I took a break from blogging this weekend because I felt I had been writing (and not writing) to the ex. Sometimes I felt I was holding back something that might seem spiteful, sometimes I was putting something just to be spiteful, sometimes I was putting something I really wanted to share with him. Then I felt like it wasn’t fair that he gets to stay caught up on me and see little B every week while I’m completely cut off and thought I should cut him off too or at least stick strictly to knitting content. Then I realized that if I do want to keep going with this knitting blog (and my life), I can’t be worrying about whether he still reads this and how what I say might affect him. So I’m back, I’m rested, and I have plenty to share.

I’ll start with the knitting.

I’ve been rolling along on the Drunken Argyle. The picture on the left shows detail, the one on the right is much more color accurate. It’s really practically black and a bit of a bitch to see if I’m not working in really good light.

I tried the spit join for the first time. I totally don’t trust it. This thing is going to completely fall apart on my dad. But my knitting guru friend assures me it won’t. So while I don’t trust the spit join, I trust her. This has created a wary truce in my head. For now…

In other knitting news, I’ve been dying to cast on with my SP7 yarn, but I decided after wearing my other hand knit socks that I don’t really want another pair of hand knit socks. (They’re awesome house socks, but weren’t so great as out and about socks. I also realized I really really like my men’s athletic socks and I’m ok with that.) Plus I’ve been itching to make myself some gauntlets anyway. I cast on for these about 27 times before deciding that a tubular cast on with 1×1 ribbing, 52 stitches around, and a 6 stitch cable in the middle was the answer. (Like my neighbor’s little porch garden? Me too.) I don’t have a pattern for this because I wanted to knit them from the fingers down so I could decide how long I wanted them as I go along and every pattern I found was arm to fingers. So wish me luck. And thanks again SP. I love the colors!

In the random geek category we have the following:

I wanted this shirt so badly, but then I realized one month of WoW does not make you a gamer.

Also, I’ve been rocking out to my new copy of the latest Reggie CD. And now I want to share something with you. It’s my new copy because my old copy is with the ex. “But Ellie,” you protest, “What’s special about that? People lose things in breaks-ups all the time: Nintendo controllers, socks, dogs… What’s so special about a CD?” Yes, yes, but those other things are mildly frustrating, utterly unimportant, or seriously depressing. (Seriously, it was nearly 3 years ago now, but why did I not take the dog? Guilt is a damned powerful emotion.) But, no, this is funny. I’ve been giggling about it for far too long. The CD is called “Songs Not To Get Married To.” My copy of “Songs Not To Get Married To” is with my (divorced) ex. Makes me giggle every time I think it. Also, I cannot wait for Reggie to get here. Cause he totally rocks.

In the let’s make everything better by shopping category we have the following:

I felt I needed a circular case to round out my collection, so I checked in over at etsy and come on. How could I NOT buy this one?

Then I went shopping for my secret pal this weekend and I must say I am very pleased with myself (though I can’t show you why obviously). I didn’t see anything that screamed out to me yarn-wise, but I did find this pattern. This is incredible exciting because I’ve wanted a star pillow for just about as long as I can remember. I think it was because of the little star guy in the Care Bears.* I had plans to make myself one when I first learned to sew with a machine around 6th grade, but I just never got around to it and I don’t really sew anymore. But I sure do knit. I see a large number of these in my future.

Last up, I bought this wallet from my friend. I love it so much! Check out both of her etsy shops: bumblesandlu and hellodinosaur.

*Total aside: Speaking of Care Bears, remember the Gummi Bears? They drank a magic potion and got extra bouncy. OK, that one was for the ex. He thought I was making it up when I got the theme song (link to mp3) stuck in my head. Gummi Bears, bouncing here and there and everywhere. Yeah! Right, so that’s totally in my head for the rest of the day now.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 30, 2006 in general geekdom, knitting, other bits of life

 

3 responses to “Weekend update.

  1. Imbrium

    January 30, 2006 at 4:32 pm

    The spit join totally works. Trust the spit join. It will not fall apart on your father, and you know I wouldn’t lie about that.
    And Babe…if you want the “WASD” shirt, you are totally a gamer. I don’t care how long you’ve been playing what game…if you see that shirt and your first thought is “ohmigodiwantit”…yeah, gamer.
    Oh, and thanks for the Gummi Bears song…now I’m going to be humming it all day. :p
    *hugs* Glad you had what seems to be a good weekend.

     
  2. vegan knitting

    January 30, 2006 at 11:49 pm

    I love that wallet! I looked at your friend’s Etsy shop and everything is so cute!

     
  3. ellie

    January 31, 2006 at 1:58 pm

    Imbrium – Thanks for the hugs! I was worried I’d be a total poseur if I got that shirt, but another friend has confirmed that my 190 hours clocked on Gladius also assures my status and that there is more and more cross platform acceptance amongst gamers. Heh. So yeah, I totally need that shirt. And I’ll trust you with the spit join, but I can’t yet give up all wariness.
    vegan knitting – Glad you like the wallets. She makes such awesome stuff!

     

Leave a Reply

 
