RSS

Thanks guys!

31 Jan

I just want to thank everyone for being so supportive. I have been feeling really loved lately and I want to share it. Granted, a little bit of it is from myself (look what I got in the mail today below), but I’ve just had such an outpouring of good feelings and full mailboxing and full scheduling. My mom has been sending letters practically every other day, some with little gift cards (including one for gas from my dad, what a dad! whereas mom does Borders and says to get a coffee, ah gender stereotypes…), my brother just sent me a bunch of mix cds of various catchy screamy songs (complete with his unique style of annotation: Track 13. Cradle of Filth – If I were as goth as them, no one would be my friend. Track 19. Gwen Stefani – I challenge a full grown adult to write stupider lyrics.) and there’s a metal one on the way, my aunt just sent me this embroidered cloth (I’m going to have to ask her if she did it herself, there was no note! Mom says she did), my local friends are totally helping me out with game nights and lunches and listening to me go on and on about anything and everything, including my extreme frustration and incomprehension of how a significant faction of graduate students somehow think it’s acceptable not to put their name on their assignments or in their emails (seriously, what is wrong with them?), my brother and his awesome fiancée have taken every one of my neurotic calls, even when they were on their engagement vacation, another friend offered to pay my WoW subscription to keep me playing (I froze my account) – provided I move to his server of course, my professor helped me rework my schedule, took me to dinner, and is offering job search help, my LA friends have gotten back into IMing me (probably my favorite form of communication), at least one PA friend came through with a sorely needed reality check, while another had some impressive insights (as have all of my Austin friends – really sharing with people has been so damn good for me, I used to be a very “don’t talk about your problems” kind of person, totally not the way to go), and I have really appreciated all the supportive and friendly comments all my blogfriends have left me.

So yeah, thanks everyone! And your reward is a peek at my new circular needle case (from Granny’s Closet) in action. It has skulls, knitting, and organization. I don’t know how many more of my favorite things you could fit into one object.

In other good news, I finally got Photoshop installed on my computer so I don’t have to keep editing on my laptop and transferring the files. This is very very exciting. I hate my laptop. With a passion. It has a 14G hard drive. It hates me too. But all that’s behind us now and it can get wiped and used only for coffee shop word processing. Huzzah!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 31, 2006 in knitting, other bits of life

 

8 responses to “Thanks guys!

  1. Imbrium

    February 1, 2006 at 11:33 am

    Yay!
    Of course we love you. How could we not?
    (I like your brother’s annotation style. 🙂 And he’s right about Gwen Stefani.)

     
  2. Morgan

    February 1, 2006 at 9:32 pm

    I have never seen an object that seems more perfectly suited to you. Holy shit.
    That said… I get to see you soon! Yay!
    By the time you get here, I wil doubtless have gazillions of Kniity Gritty episodes on my TiVo for you to watch in whatever spare time you have. Speaking of which, do you need a place to stay? I do now have several hundred pets, but other than that you’re always welcome.
    Also, re: the t-shirt below… I yield my claims to any kind of geek crown, because I totally didn’t get it at all.

     
  3. ellie

    February 1, 2006 at 9:53 pm

    Imbrium – Thanks! and yeah, Gwen, ug.
    Morgan – Yay indeed! What’s up with these several hundred pets? You’ll have to fill me in. I have a place, but if it falls through for any reason I will totally call. I like hundreds of pets. And thanks! The shirt – it’s the keys you use to move left/right/forward/back (not in that order) in many computer games. You’re still a geek, just not a gamer. 🙂

     
  4. zach of the Mountains

    February 6, 2006 at 4:42 pm

    Keep on keepin on.
    What kind of selfish bastard offers wow and only on their server? wow, what a jerky-Mc Jerkinstine.
    Like the gauntlet.

     
  5. ellie

    February 6, 2006 at 4:47 pm

    It’s totally not selfish, it’s totally beyond generous. I’m lucky to have such great friends. 😉 I’m sorry that I’m falling too far behind in my school work to take him up on it. But rest assured, when I play again, Shadowsong here I come!

     
  6. lenise

    February 7, 2006 at 10:16 am

    That’s badass. I’m so jealous. I’ve been reading your blog today and enjoying it.

     
  7. ellie

    February 7, 2006 at 12:58 pm

    Hello, thanks, and glad you’re enjoying! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
