RSS

Heroes in a half shell.

02 Feb

I believe I’ve already let the cat out of the bag on my non-religious-ness (this includes ideas like fate and karma in addition to deities). One side effect of this is that I find absolutely no comfort in the usual comfort phrases. It was meant to be. Everything happens for a reason. It was God’s will. etc. I’m sure there are plenty more that make my skin crawl, but that’s a good representative sample.

This does not mean that I haven’t clung to some phases that have meaning for me though. Oh no. I just find them in much different places. I thought I’d share some of the ones that have helped me through various tough times, mostly because I am wildly in love with my most current one (and really, most of them make me giggle pretty big):

Remember you are free to leave whenever you want. I don’t remember where I heard this one (a quick search on the phrase seems to imply that it may have been a commercial touting some no obligation free gift), but it must have had some deep resonance because when I was packing up leaving my first serious relationship I found it written no less than three different places. I keep a quote book, so that’s the obvious one, but I found it three places besides that. And I didn’t run into it until after I had made my decision. It comforted me to think I had been moving towards the decision all along and to know I would be able to make it sooner the next time I needed to.

Be sure to secure your own oxygen mask before assisting others. Yeah, airline safety, but good metaphorical advice too. I tried to rely on this one at a time when I realized I was giving too much without looking out for myself like I should have been.

All of life’s big problems include the word indictment or inoperable, everything else is small stuff. This is from Alton Brown, from Good Eats, from the food network. I moved on to this one when some big fights were getting smaller and less frequent and I didn’t need to be on such high guard to remember to take care of myself first.

And now the biggie.

Raphael: Master, I lost a sai!
Splinter: Then it is gone.
Raphael: But I can get it back!
Splinter: Raphael… let it go.

Splinter is my current spiritual guru.

I bought a keychain. I love it. I need all the damn help I can get with this letting go stuff. It’s really, really hard! Especially when I’m not sure I want to, but I’m pretty sure I need to. Did I mention it’s really hard? Cause yeah…

***********************************************************************************************************************

Bonus: While searching for images, look what I found:

Take the quiz:
Which Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle are You?

Leonardo

You’re mature and get the job done. You are a natural born leader, and normally want to be the better of the group. You take your job seriously. You must! It may NOT be a game. When you select a sport, or something you want to do, you train continuously, constantly trying to perfect it. You’re always prepared for a challenge, and are normally found one step ahead of your enemies. Loving family more than life itself, you are a good friend, and can be depended on at all times.

I always played as Leonardo or Donatello in the video game, but just because their weapons reached the farthest.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 2, 2006 in other bits of life, quiz central

 

3 responses to “Heroes in a half shell.

  1. Imbrium

    February 2, 2006 at 11:43 am

    I think my favorite random-Zen moment was one evening, while I was in college, looking down at terminated PINE e-mail session window on my computer and noticing the little note in the bottom bar that said “Disconnected.”
    My computer says I’m disconnected. I think it’s right.
    I came back as Donatello, which surprised me at first, but upon reflection, it seems Right.

     
  2. ellie

    February 2, 2006 at 12:04 pm

    “My computer says I’m disconnected. I think it’s right.”
    I love it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
