RSS

Ellie is Super Crafty.

05 Feb

*Updated with a request for advice – head to the strikethrough for the request*

Another entry in the “shopping makes everything better” category:

First up, my trip to the Sanrio store was fairly rewarding. I could not pass up the Oscar the Grouch “Rotten Thoughts” journal. My only lament is that I have to fill up my current journal before I can switch to it. I am ironically concerned that my thoughts might not be as rotten by then. You can also see two eraser pens. I used to have two: one with Keroppi and one with my favorite, Purin*, but somebody really liked them and thought they were just the best erasers ever, and somebody else really likes making certain other people happy, so then I had zero. Now I have two again, though sadly, the design selection was nonexistent so now it’s just boring ‘ole Hello Kitty. I also got the fun free datemate. So that was a nice bonus.

Next up, a trip to Joanne’s has me set for some super crafty new projects. The patch was to fix my favorite pair of jeans (again). The beady stuff is actually ribbon, but I thought it would make really cute stitch markers, so I bought some jump rings. I came home and tried to make it work, but it was not as simple as I thought. So now I need to go get some kind of clam shell knot holder thing wire (Further investigation leads me to believe most people are making theirs with wire, not string, does anyone have any experience with this? I wasn’t really planning to get so entrenched in beadwork that I’m off buying wirecutters and learning all the stuff I used to watch my ex’s very talented jewelry making friend do, but I guess I can…), but then I think they’re going to be great. I’ve always wanted fancy stitch markers and it’s going to be even cooler that I made them myself. Last up in the picture are the materials I need to finally decorate my wooden folding trays. Quite a while back a friend sent me a beautiful book full of vintage Mexican graphics, specifically for me to do something crafty with. I’ve had the idea to paste them to my trays for months now, but never got around to figuring out what I would need and then buying the supplies. Well now I have them. Look for super tacky wonderful trays soon. I may need to get to Ikea and pick up a few more.

Not pictured: I also got some interfacing so that I can do some embroidery onto cotton t-shirts. I need to do a little more research first I think. I used to do embroidery and cross stitch in high school, but the cross stitching was always a kit and the embroidery was always on denim or something similarly sturdy. When I called my mom to ask her to send me all my embroidery floss and hoops so that I could make cute t-shirts she very tactfully reminded me that I will need to take the fabric into consideration in my methods. It was adorable. Something along the lines of, “Now Ellie, I know you are a very skilled and experience knitter and embroiderer. You’ve made so many great projects over the years, so I know I don’t need to remind you of this, but sewing on a stretchy t-shirt can be a little tricky.” I love my mom. I hadn’t even thought about it. I was going to buy some cheap t-shirts and just stick them in the hoop. I would have been so disappointed. Heh. So next up is finding some really cute pictures that I want to embroider. I’m thinking I want to do a shirt that has a nautilus, a cuttlefish, an octopus, and a squid all together. (Those being the four types of cephalopods.) But finding line drawings of all of them could prove to be a challenge, so I may just start out with some prepackaged designs from Sublime Stitching.

And finally, gauntlet #1. Done! I love this thing. I can’t wait to have two, paint my nails to match it, and feel super indie rocker. Hehe. Now I just need to find a t-shirt to go with it… (Also, it’s really hard to take a picture of your whole arm all by yourself. And I need to wash my bathroom mirror.)

*I wanted to add that I think Sanrio is doing some kind of simplification thing. I swear it was KeroKeroKeroppi and PomPomPurin. Of course I can’t double check now. But I swear it was. As though I could let not having the item stop me. It’s totally Pom Pom Purin. Not sure what’s up with Keroppi though. Note that the image has the Kero Kero, but the title doesn’t. I don’t know any Japanese, but maybe it has something to so with the sound a frog makes? I’d love to know what Pom Pom means too, since Purin is apparently pudding. Silly little pudding dog. I love him!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 5, 2006 in cross stitch and embroidery, knitting

 

7 responses to “Ellie is Super Crafty.

  1. Lolly

    February 6, 2006 at 11:39 am

    Ellie, I don’t even know where to start! You are so craft-spirational 😉 Look at all of the goodies! I have to say that I love those vintage images, and I think a tray would be so great for them. What a great idea!
    I have not started my Sublime Stitching yet – I have said I was going to for awhile now… I better hop to it!
    Your arm warmer is so pretty – I love the green stripes!
    xo
    PS–Heard about a conference in Austin this summer – the IMLS one in June about the convergence of museums, archves, and libraries… I am thinking about trying to make it out there for it! Time (and my bank acct) will tell… it may be the perfect time for us to meet! 😉

     
  2. Mary (in Tahoe)

    February 6, 2006 at 11:41 am

    My favorite has always been Badtz Maru…sadly his stuff came and went in a heartbeat!
    Esp. once Hello Kitty became “rocker” kitty and “denim” kitty and all the other versions which had her having more and more black…Badtz was smashed down to a pen, a gum, and maybe a notebook…sadness.

     
  3. Imbrium

    February 6, 2006 at 11:55 am

    I’m not allowed in the Sanrio store anymore. It’s vaguely frightening how much money I can spend on essentially useless crap.
    The gauntlets are totally indie…too cool. 🙂

     
  4. ellie

    February 6, 2006 at 1:13 pm

    Thanks everyone!
    Lolly – If I’m still in Austin we will definitely have to meet, and I’ll have to look into that conference. I’m glad we’re craft-spiring each other. 🙂
    Mary – We always used to joke that Batz Maru is what all the girls who love Sanrio stuff get for their boyfriends. 🙂 I had been trying to find one (ok, actually I was going to get like five of them, but still…) of those eraser pens with Batz on it as a gift this last Christmas, but to no avail. They’re really cutting back on everyone who isn’t Hello Kitty.
    Imbrium – Hehe! Back in my more frequent shopping days the guy I was dating at the time would go wait for me in a bookstore and I would come find him an hour later, sometimes he’d come for me to make sure I was ok and to see if I’d be ready to go anytime soon. I’m really picky about my designs, so it wasn’t so much a money trap as a time one. Ooo, but I was always a sucker for their grab bags. I miss the Galleria in LA. Now that was a Sanrio store.
    Ah memories! I also used to wear a little Keroppi sticker on my glasses in middle school.

     
  5. deety

    February 6, 2006 at 3:05 pm

    Those gauntlets look fantastic, I love the colors. Good job!

     
  6. Emily

    February 6, 2006 at 11:14 pm

    Hey Ellie!
    I had no idea the gauntlets were going to be so long. I’ve got to make myself a pair but I think first I’ll tackle some fingerless gloves.
    Can you tell me what the code is that you use to put a strikethrough in your text? I’ve looked around but haven’t found it.
    And last but not least, I’d like to send you a present. Do you have an address you are willing to give me? If so, send me an e-mail.
    🙂
    E

     

Leave a Reply

 
