RSS

Gory.

08 Feb

Back when I got my Gloom card deck I tried to describe the artwork as Gorey-esque, only to discover no one knew who Edward Gorey was. Then yesterday I found this over at On the Needles.

Don't Trip
You will be smothered under a rug. You’re a little anti-social, and may want to start gaining new social skills by making prank phone calls.

What horrible Edward Gorey Death will you die?
brought to you by Quizilla

View all possible deaths here.

Getting that link for Gloom, I saw that Atlas also makes a game about Cthulhu. Which reminds me of a funny link made the other day that I have just about no one to share with. Hmmm… I should email it to my friend e. Here’s the thing. There’s this author in library science. Her name is Carole Kuhlthau. She’s a pretty big name. Kuhlthau. Cthulhu. Then I wondered if she got teased about it as a kid. Then I realized what a HUGE nerd I am. The end.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on February 8, 2006 in library stuff, quiz central

 

9 responses to “Gory.

  1. Emily

    February 8, 2006 at 9:15 pm

    Oh, I want to do that quiz! I normally HATE those things – I never want to do them myself and get annoyed when people post them instead of actually writing or posting pics. Gosh, I sound so mean. But I do. However, this is really cute, and as an Edward Gorey fan, how can I resist!?!?! Only the stupid Quizilla site won’t load.
    Pout!

     
  2. ellie

    February 8, 2006 at 9:24 pm

    Ha. I’m surprised you come back to my site ever then with all the quizzes I put up! Sorry the site won’t load for you. 😦

     
  3. anne

    February 8, 2006 at 9:42 pm

    Freakin LOVE Edward Gorey. My Nana first bought me a book of his stuff when I was about 11. I think I got the same quiz result awhile back – I’ll have to retest to make sure.

     
  4. incendiary librarian

    February 8, 2006 at 10:14 pm

    ooh i was in one of her classes at rutgers 🙂
    v. says she loves edward gorey.

     
  5. stephanie

    February 8, 2006 at 10:16 pm

    Hi Ellie – I usually don’t do quizzes either but that one I couldn’t resist. Gorey is just so wonderful. I actually liked being assigned a manner of death – as long as I got to post some awesome art! I think mine had me being bitten in the behind by a leech. Everyone of them makes me laugh – the commentary is so funny.
    Love your blog. It’s so cool when I discover a blogger I read also reads mine. 🙂

     
  6. ellie

    February 9, 2006 at 8:38 am

    Glad you all enjoyed so much.

     
  7. Mary

    February 9, 2006 at 12:07 pm

    Sometimes I look back and wonder how they could let me teach 11 yr olds…I had the “Alphabet Deaths” POSTER in my 7th grade ESL/English classroom, oh yes. My little ESLrs would hang out near it chanting the the rhymes. They did learn a whole bunch of English, I’m sure, I just hope I didn’t traumatize them too much in too many other ways…

     
  8. ellie

    February 9, 2006 at 12:24 pm

    Ha! That’s awesome. (Did you just say awesome?)

     
  9. Imbrium

    February 9, 2006 at 1:21 pm

    Edward Gorey rocks (okay, rocked, seeing as how he’s dead, and all.) I remember his art from when I was a wee little lass and my mother would watch Mystery! all the time.
    And how cool would it be to almost have Cthulhu as your last name? I’m about 10 pages away from finishing a “best of” collection of Lovecraft’s short stories. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
