RSS

Lots of pictures, not much to say.

09 Feb

Look what came in the mail yesterday:


Yup, that’s my embroidery stuff. Along with candy hearts (This is not a slight on my mom at all, but does anyone actually like the taste of those candy hearts?) and some candy for kitty. I put some on her scratching post yesterday. It’s still there. It must be like candy hearts for kitties.

A friend gave me some Sublime Stitching patterns. There are so many great ones, but so far these are my favorite. Now I need to go buy things to embroider them onto.

This postcard came in the mail from a friend’s mom. Too funny.

This ball of yarn?

It is destined to become another pair of gauntlets. A friend who’s birthday is coming up called me to say she LOVED my gauntlets. Hint hint. I am not complaining, all of my non-knitting friends show little to no interest in my knitting, so while I like to make things for people, I worry they won’t be well received. It’s terribly validating to have my items be cool enough to be requested. The big decision now is do I knit them exactly like mine, or try a version that starts at the arm and is knit towards the fingers in an attempt to make the decreases going down the arm look better than the  increases going up my arm look on mine. I kind of think the black yarn will hide it better and I’m going to go with what I know.  Sorry for the further postponement Dad. It’s still too cold for a vest in PA anyway, right?

I saved the best for last. The finished gauntlets!

Yarn: Crazy Cotton by Schachenmayr (a gift from my secret pal). Thanks Secret Pal! 2 skeins plus a little itty bit off the 3rd. 100% cotton, 50g/125m/skein.

Needles: Size 3 bamboo double points (a gift from Imbrium). Thanks Imbrium!

Pattern: Me, my calculator, my tape measure, my notebook, and lots of ripping back.

Notes: Thank heavens I have a decent memory. I did write things in my notebook along the way, but usually only the first or second try, not the 4th which actually worked.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 9, 2006 in knitting

 

6 responses to “Lots of pictures, not much to say.

  1. Michelle

    February 9, 2006 at 9:18 pm

    The gauntlets are great! And the embroidery floss — that’s a ton!!!!

     
  2. Lolly

    February 10, 2006 at 6:28 am

    Gosh, where to start! Love the gauntlets – those are so incredibly cool, girl 😉
    And all the embroidery stuff is SO great. That is something I really want to start soon… of course, I don’t have all of the lovely flosses you have. WOW!

     
  3. katiedid

    February 10, 2006 at 8:32 am

    I do the same thing when I “write” down a pattern as I go along!
    The gauntlets look great! They totally match a sweater I have…

     
  4. haley

    February 10, 2006 at 10:25 am

    Hey Ellie!
    The gauntlets (what an excellent name!) look great. They sure were a hit yesteray in the lab, too!
    I hope you don’t mind if I add your bloggie to my BLOGLINES. I can’t wait to take a look at all the pictures and stuff on here. Yay!
    -haley

     
  5. Imbrium

    February 10, 2006 at 11:43 am

    Candy hearts=ew! Nasty, chalky, yuck. And yet, someone must like them, because they sell them by the boatload. Go figure.
    The yarn for my Dad’s sweater is at the post office, waiting for me to pick it up. Eek!

     
  6. ellie

    February 10, 2006 at 3:25 pm

    Thanks everyone! I’m super proud of them if you couldn’t tell. Knitting is so satisfying.
    Imbrium – I’m not convinced anyone likes them. I think it’s more like fruitcake and everyone just gifts them cause it’s tradition.
    And yeah, all that embroidery floss. You can see how into it I was in late middle school/early high school. I did friendship bracelets, cross stitch, and embroidery. It was definitely a HUGE hobby. I had kinda forgotten how huge…

     

Leave a Reply

 
