RSS

Fooled ya!

11 Feb

Ha! You thought I was actually silly enough to glue down collage work one piece at a time without a plan. Ha!

Ok, I was, but after the second picture I realized that if I want the whole thing covered that was not going to work if I continued in the manner I was working.

So I laid out the whole thing and stayed up (til 3am) and did it. Tada!

I’m not going to win any foresight awards, or any best decoupage awards (there are tons of air bubbles and wrinkles), but overall I think it turned out pretty good, and the next one will be even better because I will lay out the whole thing and leave a lot more overlap so I don’t have to be so precise so I can glue down one piece at a time and work out the air bubbles. I was also rather proud to have come up with the idea to use post-it flags to keep the pieces together without harming the images.

I wanted to have a lot of curved lines, but that ended up meaning I had to be really precise with my overlapping and I didn’t think I could do that one piece at a time, bottom pieces first and perfectly placed (Of course thinking about it now, I could have made some pencil markings. Ah hindsight. So aggravating.) There will be a LOT more planning before I do the next one. I also think I want to shellac the whole thing. It still feels too much like paper. I think I was envisioning a thick gloss that is currently lacking. And it probably needs a bit more protection against the little one.

The big debate now is whether I want to cover it in glitter spray paint too. Could be perfectly over the top. Could be terribly over the top. Hard to tell.

And for all you knitting Olympians, here’s a cheer I learned from my Grandpa:

Rickety rickety shanty town
Who can pull our panties down?
N-O. B-O. D-Y.
Nobody!

Gooooooooooo Team!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 11, 2006 in general craftiness

 

3 responses to “Fooled ya!

  1. Lolly

    February 12, 2006 at 8:40 pm

    SO cool! I have to try this! I like the look here, but the glitter sure sounds enticing – everyone loves sparkles!

     
  2. Imbrium

    February 13, 2006 at 12:36 pm

    Too cute! Go for the glitter…I think it will be the perfect amount of too much.
    And…um…*checks panties*…okay. o_O

     
  3. ellie

    February 13, 2006 at 1:00 pm

    Thanks guys!

     

Leave a Reply

 
