RSS

The only way to get rid of temptation is to yield to it. – Oscar Wilde

13 Feb

Have I mentioned lately that my friends rule? This was a Valentine’s Day package that came today from my friend who will soon own a new pair of gauntlets. It came with tons of vegan chocolate and such sound advice as how now I can light candles without fear of a lecture on their particle emissions and how I was too good for him anyway. It’s definite progress that I can hear that now and smile at a caring friend without immediately jumping to his defense or sobbing over the loss. I’m beginning to see the light at the end of the tunnel. It feels good.

The title of the post. Did you guess? I took up the coffee offer (sorry Kasha). I had a blast. Coffee led to an invitation to a trivial pursuit party. I’m guessing you can all guess how right up my alley that is. So I went. I hung out with a bunch of total strangers and had tea and played trivial pursuit. I had so much fun I didn’t even mind that I didn’t win. (My team was a close second though.)

I haven’t done any knitting or crafting though. And I need to get serious about my school work. I don’t really have my concentration back yet, but that’s getting there too. I’m up to 2-4 hours a day. I need to make it to 7-8. But in my distraction I have found out some wonderful things. For example:

  • baby albatross are bigger than their parents
  • and it’s really funny when they snap at David Attenborough
  • molting penguins look really silly
  • penguins slipping and falling down slopes are also funny and cute
  • the weight of all the ocean’s krill is larger than the weight of all the humans on earth
  • antarctica is cool

Addition for Morgan:

“Albatross chicks take a long time to fledge. In the case of the great albatrosses it can up to 280 days, even for the smaller albatrosses it takes anywhere between 170 and 140 days. Like many seabirds, albatross chicks will actually gain enough weight to be heavier than their parents, and prior to fledging they use these reserves to build up body condition (particularly growing all their flight feathers), usually fledging at the same weight as their parents. Albatross chicks fledge on their own, and receive no further help from their parents, who will  actually return to the nest after fledging, unaware their chick has left.” (from Wikipedia). Image from Jeffrey Rich Nature Photography.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on February 13, 2006 in general geekdom, other bits of life

 

11 responses to “The only way to get rid of temptation is to yield to it. – Oscar Wilde

  1. Michelle

    February 13, 2006 at 1:27 pm

    That’s excellent, Ellie. See, one thing leads to another and it’s often always good. If not even the coffee date, then someone at the party or whatever. A trivial pursuit party sounds awesome, though I’ll never be able to win (in the winner’s circle, continually missing the sport’s question describes me). I’m so glad you were able to do it and that you are starting the process of moving on. Such a nice package, and what a nice friend you have, too.

     
  2. Imbrium

    February 13, 2006 at 2:01 pm

    Oooh…Trivial Pursuit.
    I’m glad the coffee went well. You deserve so much happiness…it’s nice to be able to imagine a smile on your face. 🙂

     
  3. katiedid

    February 13, 2006 at 2:24 pm

    I’m glad the coffee went well too. I hope things just keep getting better and better for you.

     
  4. kasha

    February 13, 2006 at 2:50 pm

    I’m glad you had fun, but you do need me (and Morgan) for guaranteed Trivial Pursuit victory, right?

     
  5. morgan

    February 13, 2006 at 2:58 pm

    Um…. you’re going to need to clarify the albatross thing for me. Wouldn’t that give us ever-larger albatrosses? Unless they have the freakishly long life span of a Galapagos tortoise, it would seem that this is not… entirely logically probable. Since, you know, I haven’t seen any Godzillatrosses wandering around.
    Other than that, yay coffee date. 🙂

     
  6. Haley Richardson

    February 13, 2006 at 3:58 pm

    I didn’t want you to forget about our buddy Brendan.. http://www.theraconteurs.com/
    One day my blog will be as fun as yours, Ellie. Though I don’t think I will ever be able to successfully mention albatross in any of my posts.
    I feel like an enormous nerd. We actually had a conversation as I posted this. Jeez.

     
  7. ellie

    February 13, 2006 at 4:12 pm

    Kasha – Of course I need you and Morgan! I didn’t win after all.
    Morgan – I’ll have to do more research for the detailed answer, but my understanding was that with all it’s fluff it weighed more and was larger than it’s parent, but as it shed its down and sleeked up it shrunk down to adult size. It sure looked funny though.
    Haley – Welcome to the fold. 🙂
    Everyone – Thanks!

     
  8. Morgan

    February 13, 2006 at 5:04 pm

    a) I love you. You are so good with research and followup. I wish I were a studio mogul so I could keep you on a hefty annual retainer. I would also like the fat severance package, but those are the only two reasons I would want to be a studio mogul.
    b)I buy the scientific arguments, but maintain that the photo is, while amusing, deceptive in the way Peter Jackson so handily exploited in the Lord of the Rings movies.

     
  9. ellie

    February 13, 2006 at 5:28 pm

    Morgan, I won’t argue with you on the photo, but I had a bitch of a time finding a big baby and parent together. Rent “Life in the Freezer.” It’s awesome.

     
  10. vegan knitting

    February 14, 2006 at 11:30 pm

    Someone’s been watching “life in the freezer”!!!
    That show is awesome. Nothing beats the life of birds, IMO, but it’s still awesome.
    Have you watched the Blue Planet series yet?
    Oh, I just noticed that you said the show’s name. But I’m going on the record to say that I knew what you were talking about without that.

     
  11. ellie

    February 15, 2006 at 12:34 am

    They’re all awesome, but Blue Planet is my favorite for the section on the deep alone. Sadly my copies of Life of Mammals and State of the Planet were both gifts to the ex and not actually mine. We were moving towards the entire Attenborough collection. If you’re a fan, check out my mini web-liography. Oh, and you just reminded me I never read his copy of Life on Air either. That’s going to the top of the Amazon wish list right now.

     

Leave a Reply

 
