RSS

Happy Valentine’s Day to Me.

16 Feb

I actually had a very nice Valentine’s Day despite (or maybe because of) recent past events. You know, I’m going to go with because of. I just remembered that last Valentine’s Day was a big fiasco beginning with accusations of being a present grubber (which, ok, maybe I am, but just a little, and it was uncalled for in this situation because I was only confirming whether we were going to exchange gifts for the holiday or not so that I could get something last minute had he changed his mind on not doing anything, I hate feeling like the jerk who didn’t get you anything) and escalating from there. So this year single was totally better than last year’s fight. And while this year did involve gelato, it was missing one key ingredient.

I remembered, after waking up from a dream where I was sneaking expensive chocolates from a good friend’s Valentine’s present from her girlfriend (sorry cg, I totally stole your chocolate in my dream), that all those Whitman’s samplers and Russel Stover goodness are 50% off the day after Valentine’s Day. (Do you see Elvis there?) Happy Valentine’s Day to me!

I also got this card in the mail from Vegan Knitting. I’m so sorry I forgot your real name and got confused! Thank you so much for such a sweet card. You rock!

Random fact to go with the elephant:

Wood isn’t made to withstand more than 1,000 lbs. – per – square inch (psi) of concentrated pressure. And while that may sound like a high threshold, a 130 lb. person in high heels can exert as much as 2,000 psi because all the weight is focused on the narrow heel of the shoe. The good news? Feel free to invite over all the elephants you like. Because of their wide, flat feet, they exert only 75 psi per step.  (Mental Floss, p. 49, v. 4, iss. 5)

Last up, this one from my mom. We love engineer jokes in my family. This one would be funny no matter what, but I extra love it in light of my last relationship.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 16, 2006 in other bits of life

 

6 responses to “Happy Valentine’s Day to Me.

  1. Imbrium

    February 16, 2006 at 4:29 pm

    Happy (two days after) Valentine’s Day, pretty lady! Bradon and I discussed getting Valentine’s chocolate and quickly agreed to wait for the after-holiday sale. Mmmm…cheaper chocolate.
    Dilbert makes me giggle. Have you seen this one: http://www.dilbert.com/comics/dilbert/archive/dilbert-20060205.html ? Ah…geek boys. So silly.

     
  2. ellie

    February 16, 2006 at 4:56 pm

    That is absolutely hilarious! Thanks for sharing.

     
  3. Michelle

    February 16, 2006 at 10:59 pm

    funny cartoon!

     
  4. vegan knitting

    February 17, 2006 at 12:03 am

    The card was from me! Isn’t the elephant so cute?
    What is your favorite an elephant body part?
    Mine is the hair on the heads of the babies. I really want to pet it!

     
  5. ellie

    February 17, 2006 at 7:31 am

    Thank you, thank you!! I’ll fix the post when I have a bit more time. I gotta go trunk though with the favorite part. xoxo.

     
  6. vegan knitting

    February 18, 2006 at 7:03 pm

    I forgot to add this nice dirty joke from my husband:
    What’s grey and comes in quarts?
    An elephant!

     

Leave a Reply

 
