RSS

I wonder if Fermilab needs a librarian…*

16 Feb

I saw this over at Deep Sea News. A bunch of 7th graders wrote about and drew a picture of their idea of a scientist before and after visiting Fermilab. Apparently no one there wears a white lab coat. Which made me realize I held that exact same stereotype. They do however, apparently wear questionable sweaters. I think this is my favorite before and after.

In knitting news: I haven’t been. I’ve had both more fun and not at all fun things taking up my time. Fun things have involved coffee, walks, and mix tapes. Not at all fun things have involved trying (and mostly failing) to up those productive hours per day.

I did cast on for those second pair of gauntlets, but the cable really doesn’t show up, so cg, would you be interested in a lovely eyelet pattern? Something like this:

Or would you prefer the questionably visible subtle cable?

*What? Don’t you go look at Fermilab job openings and the picture book of their current projects in your free time?

 
10 Comments

Posted by on February 16, 2006 in general geekdom

 

10 responses to “I wonder if Fermilab needs a librarian…*

  1. Lauren

    February 16, 2006 at 12:27 pm

    That was hilarious! Thanks for passing it along.

     
  2. Imbrium

    February 16, 2006 at 12:29 pm

    Mmmm…raising the geeks of the next generation.

     
  3. anne

    February 16, 2006 at 12:59 pm

    Love the before and after. Before sounds like my grad program, After sounds like where I want to be after grad school!

     
  4. katiedid

    February 16, 2006 at 1:12 pm

    I wish I was a scientist. Thanks for the cool link!

     
  5. Michelle

    February 16, 2006 at 1:33 pm

    Ooh, I love that questionable sweater! I hope that goateed guy never becomes too cool. Or maybe he already is too cool. Those were great links.

     
  6. ellie

    February 16, 2006 at 3:14 pm

    Hehe, I’m so glad you guys liked it so much!

     
  7. itgirl

    February 16, 2006 at 3:19 pm

    Ugh, I’ve been an engineering librarian before. A few too many times. And stay away from the government, before it’s too late…and you’re sucked in, like me….

     
  8. cg

    February 19, 2006 at 9:20 am

    I bow to your superior knowledge of knit-related style, and encourage you to make those gauntlets any which way you see fit (I’m SO looking forward to wearing them!).

     
  9. PainterWoman

    February 22, 2006 at 1:51 am

    Thanks TONS. I’ve been married to two physicists… The Afters AND befores are fairly accurate from my experience! Bad sweaters included… Of course some of the ones I know got stuck in the 70’s… and were heavily influenced by the 60’s. The best news, though, is that scientists rarely dance, so Disco is not. an. issue.

     

Leave a Reply

 
