RSS

You learn something new every day.

28 Feb

Today I learned a number of new things:

1. There is a book entitled : Venereal Disease and The Lewis & Clark Expedition. There are three shelves devoted to Lewis & Clark at my campus library.
2. Pennyroyal tea is drank to induce abortions. I’m guessing every good Nirvana fan already knew this, but it was news to me. *Update – or cure headaches, who knew pennyroyal was so multipurpose?
3. My neighbors are jerks.
4. UPS are idiots.

Numbers 1 and 2 were discovered during my research on American Indian healing for a reference project.

Numbers 3 and 4 were discovered when I tried to figure out why my Valentine’s Day gift to myself hadn’t arrived yet. UPS attempted to deliver my package to my address, which is in the form of XX20 Street Name, Apartment #. I wasn’t home. So they went over to XX10, same apartment # and gave them the package. The residents of XX10 my apartment number signed for it and kept it. I am, of course, too chicken to march over and ask WTF? I’m letting UPS and Hot Topic duke it out.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 28, 2006 in other bits of life

 

7 responses to “You learn something new every day.

  1. Michelle

    February 28, 2006 at 8:53 pm

    #2, yep. #4? Well, at least they’re not fed ex. Those are some crazy neighbors, keeping your stuff. Your idea to let the corps figure it out is very refined.

     
  2. Mary

    February 28, 2006 at 11:45 pm

    It helps if you have a sword…when the neighbors see you weilding a meter-long piece of steel, it’s just amazing how they reform…

     
  3. Emily

    March 1, 2006 at 2:34 am

    I’d go over for you but it’s a long walk from California!
    What a pain in the butt! This just happened to some friends of ours as well but it was Fed Ex.

     
  4. katie

    March 1, 2006 at 8:20 am

    What jerks! I can’t believe they delivered it to someone else! I think I would take let Hot Topic and UPS duke it out too but I’d probably write the neighbors a little note letting them know how rude that was. But I’m a letter writer type person for almost any occasion.
    I hope it all gets worked out!

     
  5. Imbrium

    March 1, 2006 at 12:10 pm

    Mary’s got a point. Swords help.
    I’ve had endless problems with UPS. Our local UPS drivers seem to be selectively blind when it comes to apartment numbers – as in, they can’t see the apartment number, despite it being on the box three times. *sigh*

     
  6. Morgan

    March 1, 2006 at 6:46 pm

    Clearly I am a terrible person, because I would both a)bitch at UPS/Hot Topic AND b)go ask the neighbors WTF?. And then give the extra t-shirt to a friend.
    Amazon doesn’t require signatures for delivery, so I’ve had to get items replaced on more than one occasion, only one of which eventually randomly showed up.

     
  7. ellie

    March 2, 2006 at 11:41 am

    Swords… Not a bad idea…
    Morgan, that doesn’t make you terrible, in fact, it only makes you assertive. I’m more of a scaredy cat. And then I use logic to back that up. Confronting neighbors will obviously only lead to a) them denying it, b) them being scary and crappy, b/c only a scary crappy person would keep someone else’s package. So you see, no good can come of it. 🙂 At least that’s going to be my excuse. I’ll get the shirt replaced though (or the money or whatever). Don’t you worry.

     

Leave a Reply

 
