RSS

I love my doctor.

06 Mar

So last weekend I had a couple of dizzy spells and went to get checked out. I generally get a bit dizzy when I stand up too fast or am out in the sun too long or haven’t eaten recently enough, but this was above and beyond normal for me. I got all light headed walking around a craft store after a big lunch. (I have a side theory that my body was concentrating on digesting so hard that it forgot to keep the regular functions going, but then I was lightheaded randomly both of the next two days too.)

The good news is I am totally healthy. And I have just about the lowest cholesterol he’s ever seen. I know nothing about cholesterol, but he said anything under 100 is considered really good and mine was 59. Go me!

So about the dizziness, apparently some people’s bodies are a little slower recognizing that you stood up and thus contracting and making sure all your blood doesn’t rush away from your head. Luckily my body is not so far down that road that I have to go get tilt table tests and take speed. What should I do? I should eat more salt! (and drink more water) Apparently salt does something to help with blood volume or something. But this is joy to my ears. Now, I’ve never been one to limit my salt intake. You’re crying and reaching for the chocolate ice cream? I’m going for the soft pretzel. (My mom says your body craves what it needs so maybe this explains why I like salt so much.) But to be told by my doctor to make sure not to limit my salt? So awesome. Next time anyone gives me a funny look for all the salt I put on everything I can shrug and say “doctor’s orders.” And you know, I haven’t been eating as much salt lately because I’ve been eating out so much more than usual. So there you go.

Gauntlet #2 is up to the thumbhole. So not worth another picture though. It looks just like this, but on the other hand.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 6, 2006 in other bits of life

 

5 responses to “I love my doctor.

  1. Imbrium

    March 7, 2006 at 12:27 pm

    Huh…that’s interesting about the salt. I never put salt on anything except potatoes, but like you I crave inherently salty things instead of sweets.
    I think your body craves what it needs too, which worries me sometimes. I had a friend in high school who had been vegan since she was 5…until she got pregnant. She craved and ate steak everyday throughout her pregnancy. Eek!
    I hope the salt helps, and that you’re feeling a bit more balanced (tee hee) soon.

     
  2. Emily

    March 7, 2006 at 10:42 pm

    Remember that just because you crave something, that doesn’t mean you have to have it!
    Huzzah for the gauntlet progress, even if it’s small.
    I am going to see the dr for a physical in two weeks. I thought of bringing up the dizziness thing because I get it REAL bad when standing up or getting up after being bent over. I mean so bad that everything turns black.
    Off to eat some salt! I, too, have really low cholesterol. Go veganism (combined with a genetic predisposition towards low cholesterol!)

     
  3. ellie

    March 8, 2006 at 12:13 pm

    Emily – Definitely bring that up at the doctor! Everything turning black is not good!

     
  4. Michelle

    March 8, 2006 at 12:36 pm

    Yeah, it’s always fun to shock the doctor with the low cholesterol — they really don’t seem to see as many vegans as you’d think. Glad that the doctor knows why that’s been happening and that you get to eat the salt you crave! Hmm, I crave creamy things more than salt or sugar. I made some frozen banana cream yesterday and it was just what I needed.

     
  5. alice

    March 15, 2006 at 5:21 am

    I get that too. dizziness not helped by my occasional lack of iron. low blood pressure runs in my family. when my dad had a heart attack they automatically put him on drugs to lower BP. he went home and then got all ill – they thought he was having another attack, but turns out they’d made his BP dangerously low – docs just assume everyone has high BP these days. on the whole, its a good thing though!
    You seem to be studying museums. I love knitting blog rings, you end up finding such interesting people.

     

Leave a Reply

 
