RSS

A meme and a hiatus.

08 Mar

I grabbed this book meme from Imbrium. I also wanted to say that I leave for spring break tomorrow and will likely be away from blogland completely. My plans involve eating at all of my favorite restaurants that I have been missing and whining about for a year and a half now. And of course seeing friends and relaxing. But seriously, every time someone asks me what I miss about LA I start listing off restaurants. Which reminds me, LA friends, I left one off the list. Must go to Mashti Malone’s for ice cream. Oh and a movie at Laemmle’s Sunset 5, maybe The Libertine? Yes, Morgan, we’ll still go to the Arclight, but it’s Laemmle’s that I miss.

So, the meme.

Usually when people ask me what I like to read I explain how I’m in grad school and don’t really have time to read anything that isn’t for class. As I finished catching up on Questionable Content last night, I realized that’s not exactly true. I read through that whole site in a couple of days. That’s like 568 pages. I’ve been reading the Series of Unfortunate Events. I’ve listened to a bunch of Terry Pratchett books on tape. I’ve been reading Bust and Mental Floss. And I’ve got over 100 feeds in my bloglines that I check every day. I actually read a lot. I just don’t read books. And especially not popular adult fiction. I read kids’ stuff, I read comics, I read nerdy trivia magazines, I listen to sci.fi./fantasy, I read what all my knitters are up to. With that said, here’s the meme.

1) Name five of your favourite books.

Poe
The Sally Lockhart Trilogy – Philip Pullman
The Basic Eight – Daniel Handler
Harold and the Purple Crayon – Crocket Johnson
Scientific American Science Desk Reference – Scientific American

2) What was the last book you bought?

The Penultimate Peril – Lemony Snicket

3) What was the last book you read/finished?

Mort – Terry Pratchett

4) List five books that have been particularly meaningful to you (in no particular order).

The Band Never Dances – J. D. Landis
The Ruby in the Smoke – Philip Pullman. These first two books were my favorite thing ever in middle school. I took them off to film school with me with the intention of turning them into screenplays, that’s how much they stuck with me.
Harold and the Purple Crayon – Crockett Johnson. Seriously. Harold is inspiring.
The Story of Libraries – Fred Lerner. I think this is the first reading I had to do for my first book history class. I was hooked.
Ishmael – Daniel Quinn

5) Name three books you’ve been dying to read but just haven’t gotten around to it?

The Search for the Giant Squid – Richard Ellis. This was a gift from my brother a couple of Christmases ago. It is next on my list.
The Book of Disquiet – Fernando Pessoa. A good friend gave me this book, among others, and I don’t know that I’ve gotten around to reading any of them. This is second on my list.
Life on Air – David Attenborough. I found this one as part of the best themed birthday packages I’ve ever given. I meant to steal it and read it, but I never got around to it. So now it’s on my wishlist.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 8, 2006 in quiz central

 

7 responses to “A meme and a hiatus.

  1. Michelle

    March 8, 2006 at 12:37 pm

    Have fun on your spring break!

     
  2. katie

    March 8, 2006 at 12:50 pm

    Hey, we both bought the same book last time we went book shopping! Lemony Snicket rocks. And I love saying Beatrice. Be-a-trice. Mmm. I’m such a dork.

     
  3. Imbrium

    March 8, 2006 at 1:29 pm

    One of the biggest reasons I hated college (there were a lot of them) was my nigh-complete lack of reading time. Oh, sure, I was reading constantly, but not anything I -wanted- to read. Blech.
    I hope you have a blast in LA. Say hello to the ocean for me…I miss her. (I used to live in Anaheim. And Ventura. And San Jose.)

     
  4. morgan

    March 8, 2006 at 1:52 pm

    I hate the Sunset Five, but despite the excoriating reviews, I AM SO THERE for Johnny Depp in Jacobean drag. There may be no film concept I am THERE-ER for, in fact.

     
  5. Lolly

    March 10, 2006 at 6:18 am

    NO fun reading – I hear you. I miss it, but I am hoping that I get the chance to read all of those books on my shelves one day!
    Hope you have a great break 😉

     
  6. Emily

    March 11, 2006 at 4:02 pm

    I love the Sally Lockheart Trilogy! All of his books really, but that series WOULD make a really good movie/s.

     
  7. Emily

    March 13, 2006 at 1:02 pm

    Hang on, it says on the BBC site that he did a program about knitting! Watch out, here I come!
    Oh, isn’t he cute in that B&W photo of him holding the armadillo!

     

Leave a Reply

 
