RSS

Major dilemma.

23 Mar

So, I was cruising around the comments and other’s blogs and links let to links and I ran into this:

I want to make this.

It is a capelet.

I hope you see my dilemma.

I’m against ponchos in all their variations. I walk around in jeans and band t-shirts most days, or things with pirates, skulls, and sea creatures on them. These items do no scream “Yes, please, toss a capelet on over me, it will look FAB.” Even trying to fit into the librarian chic genre, I don’t see how I could ever pull off wearing this in public without running around, arms extended, pretending to fly. I don’t even look that good in green! (I know, I could make it another color, but isn’t the green pretty?) Somehow that is not stopping me from desperately wanting to knit this.

Also, looking through all my scrap yarn, I ran into a swatch I had done ages ago in linen stitch with some leftover beige from a Doctor Who scarf and thought, now that would make an adorable sweater vest. So obviously that’s one of my next projects. Now to buy cute little collared shirts to wear under it…(Drunken Argyle is looking great and making me want one for myself.)

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 23, 2006 in knitting

 

7 responses to “Major dilemma.

  1. Imbrium

    March 23, 2006 at 12:14 pm

    That is really cute. You could throw that on over jeans and a band t-shirt…why not? Besides…if you make it and you hate it, you can always give it to someone else. Is it that you want to knit it, or that you want to own it?

     
  2. ellie

    March 23, 2006 at 12:21 pm

    I want to knit it and for it to look cute on me and not look ridiculous like I know it will. Cause it’s a cape. And who wears capes? Only superheros, which sadly, I am not. But yes, gifting is totally always an option. Maybe my brother will have a daughter. It would look killer on a 3 year old. 🙂
    *Note – My brother is not anywhere near to having a kid, he just seems the closest in line.

     
  3. katie

    March 23, 2006 at 1:17 pm

    That’s a toughie. It too poncho-looking for me but I’m sure it could be pulled off with band t-shirts. Almost anything can go with band t-shirts (except, you know, lacy shawls or something).

     
  4. Imbrium

    March 23, 2006 at 1:33 pm

    *sniffle* -I- wear capes. 😛

     
  5. Paloma

    March 23, 2006 at 2:43 pm

    I am 100% against ponchos too – but that is not a poncho – its a capelet, which sounds way less “martha stewart”. That entire book has really great patterns in it.

     
  6. Morgan

    March 24, 2006 at 2:00 am

    As far as I can tell, the only impediment to your rocking the capelet is the fact that you live in Austin, rather than the more meteorologically appropriate Portland. The vibe’s the same, though, so I say go ye forth and capelet.

     
  7. ellie

    March 24, 2006 at 5:35 pm

    OK fine, it’s super cute and I can totally pull it off. Geez.

     

Leave a Reply

 
