RSS

Weekend update.

02 Apr

Grandma’s hood/cowl thing is finished. Modeled here by one of the wonderful guests at my brother’s fiancée’s birthday party. Which was a total blast by the way. I was independently friends with some of the guests and I was already friends through my brother with the majority of them so it was fun catching up, it’s a great group of people, plus I won at Mario Party, so it was good times.

Pattern: None. I cast on the minimum number that would comfortably fit around my circular needles, then did decreases as I went along to narrow it up to head size.
Yarn: TCL Amore, 80% acrylic, 20% nylon, 4.5 oz/skein, 1+ skein
Needles: 24″ size 8 Addi turbos
Notes: This is a super fast knit and the third time I’ve made it. They seem to go over well.

I didn’t get much homework done, but let’s be honest and wonder why I even pretended I might. I did, however, get my resume together on the plane ride here. This is very good news seeing as I will be graduating in May and have nothing lined up. I should have started applying long ago, but, well, you know, life, it threw a couple of things at me. Stupid life. But I have now applied for my first job and have a resume that I can start throwing around.

Today I slept in stupidly late (2pm, in my defense, I did go to bed at 5, but against my defense I can sleep til 2 even if I go to bed at midnight) and watched NASCAR with my dad. Or rather, I sat in the living room and knitted while my dad channel surfed, mostly stopping on NASCAR. This is our main form of bonding, hanging out and channel surfing. He also took a look at my laptop, since it would appear when I did my complete erase and reinstall I erased my modem. Oops. And I showed him my beading magazine and beads I bought the other day. He joked that he hoped he wasn’t going to get any more letters from school. (I used to sell bracelets in school and I got a cease and desist letter sent home one day.) He also said he wanted my pliers and cutters when I got bored of the hobby. And offered to cut some memory wire for me when I said my cutters weren’t strong enough for it. He’s a good dad.

Mom made us vegan chicken and dumplings for dinner (with real chicken for dad) and we watched six episodes of the new Doctor Who. I love visiting home. I love my family and my house (we’ve had the same one my whole life) and I always feel so recharged. I have been missing my sweetie though, so I’m looking forward to getting back to Austin too. I’m not looking forward to the pile of homework, but I think I’m pretty much back on track with all of that. I’ll likely be scarce for a little while trying to plow away at my work since my brother and his fiancee are visiting me for their spring break (they’re teachers) next week. So yeah, life is good. Wish me luck on the job hunt and finishing up the semester.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 2, 2006 in knitting, other bits of life

 

6 responses to “Weekend update.

  1. Mary

    April 3, 2006 at 12:19 am

    Good luck! I just put together a library resume myself…but for Library assistant kind of jobs…I tallied up and realized (with much incredulity) that I have 12 years of library “help” experience…my main problem is that I’m overqualified. Seattle Public Library doesn’t seem to be taking “library help” (read as aides and pages) apps, but they’re taking Librarian apps…they’re online. Where are you aiming for???

     
  2. Michelle

    April 3, 2006 at 6:03 am

    Good luck! How to make chicken and dumplings? It looks so so good!

     
  3. Emily

    April 3, 2006 at 2:18 pm

    ooooo, I’d love some chicken and dumplings!
    I was really hoping to go visit my family on my spring break, which is also next week. Unfortunately, the Husband has a huge project which he wanted to finish this week but which is actually not really due until the 15th so I’m sure he’s going to be working on it until then…Which means we can take a short vacation but no NYC. WAAAAHHHH!!!!

     
  4. Imbrium

    April 3, 2006 at 2:50 pm

    Ew…you said the “r” word. I hatehatehate job-hunting, which is why I’m still in my crappy, dead-end job. I hope you have wonderful luck with it, and find just what you’re looking for.
    My parents are actually out here visting me for the week, so I know exactly how wonderful it is to see your parents. Though we’ve always moved around too much to have a house that really feels like “home,” my parents bring the feeling of “home” whenever I get to see them.

     
  5. ellie

    April 4, 2006 at 1:22 pm

    Thanks for the luck all. I’m looking to stay in Austin, which makes the search both harder and easier.
    As for the chicken and dumplings, I think it’s just a Betty Crocker recipe with the white wave water packed seitan instead of chicken and soy milk instead of real milk. Not sure how she did the gravy part. I’ll try to remember to ask her, but it was definitely a “wing it” kind of thing.

     

Leave a Reply

 
