RSS

Thank you, sir! May I have another?

09 Apr

Man oh man. It’s just that kind of  semester year 2 years life year, plus a few months. 2006 got off to a rocky start. I spent a month falling apart and another one picking myself up. Granted, there’s been some sunshine and I took a break (or two). I got (mostly) caught up (but still have half a semester’s worth of work to do in less than a month). I got miserably ill. (I’m on 2 different prescriptions and 3 doctor recommended over the counters as I type.) What does life decide to throw at me now?

Jerks.

What kind of person steals a wallet? Or is it a better question to ask why am I so naive as to think anyone would ever NOT steal a wallet? Take the cash (and it was a nice chunk of cash), just leave me my life! I didn’t have that high an opinion of humans in general to start with. This doesn’t help.

I don’t know if they lifted it or found it on the ground. I do know they took it to two different gas stations. I only hope they’re too stupid to pull off full on identity theft. (Knock on wood.)

On a silver lining note – my cell phone and keys were in my pockets and NOT in the little hand clutch that was either snagged off my wrist or picked up off the ground. So I was able to make it home from the airport with my brother and his fiancée (who graciously searched through trash cans with me at midnight when the security guard said sometimes people take the money and ditch the rest) and call and cancel all my cards, file a police report, and put an alert on my credit. Monday will be getting the new IDs.

Rest assured, life thought it was kicking me while I was down, but little did it know, I’m still so bruised and numb so well-adjusted, I can’t even feel it. It’s not the straw that broke the camel’s back, it’s the fly it doesn’t even notice when it flicks its ear. So there!

The thing that actually bothers me the most? I had just bought a capo because Shawn couldn’t find his the last time he played, so I was going to carry one around and save the day next time. They stole the damn capo. Jerks.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 9, 2006 in other bits of life

 

5 responses to “Thank you, sir! May I have another?

  1. Michelle

    April 9, 2006 at 7:26 am

    I’m so sorry that this happenend to you, and even though you did all the right things (looked for it, cancelled your stuff), it still hurts and sucks that someone would steal your money AND your stuff. Mine got lifted while I was on the subway about a year and a half ago. They used my card to buy more metrocards for illegal swipes (ick).

     
  2. incendiary librarian

    April 9, 2006 at 11:36 am

    that’s awful! 😦

     
  3. Mary

    April 9, 2006 at 11:42 am

    I’m very sorry. I’ll share this pickpocket story: My brother, Mexico City. He was 20, with my mom and her family. He distinctly feels someone’s hand in his FRONT pocket in a very full bus. There was no wallet there, (he’d already been told to put it in his underwear or in his armpit–seriously, my cousins are pros at armpit wallet-carrying), so he did…I didn’t aske which he chose :). So not only did he feel like he was being hunted, angry that someone had the audacity, but also icked out. Hello? His front pocket?
    Again, I’m so sorry. Such a cute wallet too!

     
  4. Imbrium

    April 10, 2006 at 3:44 pm

    Oh no! I’m so sorry. Have you filled out a police report? I know it sounds stupid (what, the cops are going to run around looking for your wallet?), but apparently it’s important. When Bradon’s wallet got swiped, the credit cards and his bank insisted that he file a police report.
    Major suckage.

     
  5. ellie

    April 10, 2006 at 8:56 pm

    Thanks everyone! And yes, I filed a police report. They say the case takes 48 hours to get assigned then a week or two to get investigated. But I’ve gotten all the cards redone and went for my new IDs, so while I’d like the satisfaction of “getting them” I don’t expect anything to come of it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
