RSS

Ellie cocktail.

13 Apr
How to make a ellie
Ingredients:
1 part friendliness
1 part brilliance
3 parts empathy
Method:
Stir together in a glass tumbler with a salted rim. Add a little curiosity if desired!

I’m here at work, trying to make myself work on a school project, but finding myself wandering. School is out in three weeks. Eep! That cocktail is dead on on the empathy too. I’ve got too much of it. I’m working on becoming less understanding and more selfish. Or at least self preserving. I’ve had mixed results so far.

Also, despite my best efforts and telling myself I was going to wait until Project Spectrum got to purple, I’ve cast on for this with this. In fact I did so with reckless abandon. The yarn it calls for is 20st/4" on size 6. My yarn is 24/4. I would make the 36" bust. I’m following the pattern for the 40" and crossing my fingers. OK, I did do a little math:

20st/4" = 14st/x"
(14 being the cast on for the size 36)
gave me x=2.8"
then
24st/4"=xst/2.8"
gave me 16.8 stitches to cast on,
so I went with the size that had me casting on 16.

But that’s obviously pretty loosey goosey, and I didn’t swatch and my yarn says that gauge is on size 3-5. That’s a pretty big range. I went with 5, which means I’ll be looking to borrow some 3s when I get to the bands. But, you know, that’s the way I roll.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 13, 2006 in quiz central

 

2 responses to “Ellie cocktail.

  1. Imbrium

    April 13, 2006 at 11:17 am

    Woohoo! Extreme, high risk knitting! And they say knitters are boring…pft. 🙂

     
  2. ellie

    April 16, 2006 at 2:28 pm

    Hehe. So far so good. We’ll see how the size is looking when I connect it up.

     

Leave a Reply

 
