RSS

Beads and books.

20 Apr

I got a package today.

And as you may have suspected, not only could I not wait to open it…

I couldn’t wait to play with the contents either.

I think this necklace might be hideous costume jewelry, but I don’t care. I made it!

Oh, also, it’s another entry into April’s Project Spectrum.

In other bits of life, I finally got a call from the police about my wallet. My report had been transferred from the city police to the airport police, who said we’d probably never know who did it. I suggested that the city police had said the license plate might be on the gas station surveillance footage to which the airport officer replied, “Now that’s an idea.” In such a noncommittal factor that I know it will not be pursued any further. But I have all my replacement cards, even my driver’s license, and though the new photo is not the glamour shot I had before, it’s still pretty good for a license, so we’ll call that chapter closed.

I’ve also been working on one of my big projects and my research took me to the campus art museum’s registrar’s office where I got to look through the files for each of the artworks I’m writing about. I was looking for bibliographies and articles that may have been used to write up the labels but I also ran into requests to reproduce works in articles and books and of course the entire provenance of each piece including letters back and forth between the museum and the person who gifted or sold the piece. I kept feeling like I had been transported to the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler (see the plot summary at Wikipedia), one of my favorite books from childhood (hmmm… telling, no?). Needless to say, I was smiling all day.

 

4 responses to “Beads and books.

  1. Lolly

    April 21, 2006 at 5:22 am

    Hi Ellie! I love the necklace! Not costume jewelry at all – it will be lovely paired with a nice tank. Very beachy 🙂 Great PS project!
    Best wishes with the remainder of school. I wish my projects were as good as yours… I have to do a silly paper about RFID… no book history for me 😦

     
  2. Kelly

    April 21, 2006 at 9:07 am

    Hey thats not hideous costume jewellry at all! Its ROCKING! I need you down here to help me with mine. I have lots of beads but just can’t figure out what to do with them. HUMPH!

     
  3. Imbrium

    April 21, 2006 at 11:50 am

    Hideous costume jewelry? Are you kidding? It’s gorgeous!

     
  4. ellie

    April 22, 2006 at 4:01 pm

    Thanks all. You’re too kind. (And I think maybe you didn’t click for the close-ups.)
    Kelly – I got the idea from The Impatient Beader. It’s just three strands braided.

     

Leave a Reply

 
