RSS

Just stopping by…

28 Apr

I saw this over at Bohemian Oatmeal:

I am a classic spoons! Find your own pose!

Classic Spoons Traits and Tendencies: Critics may write off Classic Spoons as too “vanilla,” but people who dismiss this pose as flavorless clearly have never been properly spooned. Proper placement may be easy to achieve, but a true Classic Spoons is more than two bodies curled back-to-front. It’s a rare couple indeed who can create the almost tangible bubble of comfort, safety, and emotional agreement that surrounds this pose. Some theorize that it requires thighs of similar lengths, others claim it takes two outsized hearts to generate even a passable Spoons. But almost everyone agrees that a bona fide Classic Spoons is a clear sign of a pair that is well balanced and complementarily scented.

Comfort Zone: Classic Spoons is a Sun Sleeper pose. Other Sun poses to explore include The Seatbelt and The Heimlich.

Health Note: Your unusually low blood pressure may prevent you from giving blood or joining some small armies.

I cheated because this is not the quiz result I got, but I wanted to see what it said for how I actually sleep (or at least the closest version). I bothered to post it (a) because I’m addicted to quizzes and post them all, (b) because I do have unusually low blood pressure, and (c) because it reminded me of this meme I started a few days ago and put aside:

Seven Things To Do Before I Die:

  1. Eat another Gianna’s vegan cheese steak.
  2. Have another pet/companion shih tzu.
  3. Own a house.
  4. Feel settled.
  5. Take more vacations.
  6. Buy a crock pot.
  7. Read more.

Seven Things I Cannot Do:

  1. Whistle
  2. Lie (convincingly)
  3. Haggle
  4. Paint/draw (I’m crafty, but not artsy)
  5. Tolerate disorder
  6. Not correct people (seriously, I was at a job training and I told my boss’s boss it was “yin and yang” not “ying and yang.” I cannot let anything slide.)
  7. Pull ups

Seven Things That Attract Me To My Man:

  1. He’s super foxy.
  2. When we curl up at night he always lets me snuggle in super close and hook a leg around him and he never tells me not to or that it’s too hot (even when it is).
  3. He’s talented.
  4. He’s fun.
  5. He showed me what healthy is and keeps doing it every day.
  6. He makes killer mix tapes.
  7. He feels good and makes me feel good.

Seven Books I Love:

  1. David Copperfield– Dickens
    I was hooked by the second line: Whether I shall turn out to be the hero of my own life, or whether that station will be held by anybody else, these pages must show. To begin my life with the beginning of my life, I record that I was born (as I have been informed and believe) on a Friday, at twelve o’clock at night. It was remarked that the clock began to strike, and I began to cry, simultaneously. (http://www.bartleby.com/307/1.html)
  2. Harold and the Purple Crayon
  3. An Ideal Husband– Oscar Wilde
    Weak? Oh, I am sick of hearing that phrase. Sick of using it about others. Weak? Do you really think, Arthur, that it is weakness that yields to temptation? I tell you that there are terrible temptations that it requires strength, strength and courage, to yield to. To stake all one’s life on a single moment, to risk everything on one throw, whether the stake be power or pleasure, I care not – there is no weakness in that. There is a horrible, a terrible courage. I had that courage. (http://www.online-literature.com/wilde/ideal_husband/2/)
  4. Poe’s short stories
  5. Sherlock Holmes
  6. The Mediterranean Vegan Kitchen
  7. Scientific American’s Science Desk Reference

Seven Things I Say:

  1. Indeed.
  2. “real big” or “real good” e.g.:
    “I aced that test real good.”
    “I’m so gonna squeeze that puppy. Real big.”
  3. totally
  4. seriously
  5. cognitive (As in, I will, with a straight face, talk about my cognitive reaction to things as opposed to how they affect me emotionally. This occurs on a semiregular basis. I like to blame my reference class where we talked about cognitive, affective, and behavioral responses, but honestly I think I did it before then.)
  6. What’s so funny? Why are you laughing? Tell me! I’ll get you! Tell me.
  7. Loveyoubye (This is how my family ends most of our phone calls.)
  8. also, “keen” or “keen gear,” which I had always thought was a quote from Kit from Tale Spin, but is actually a quote from Gosalyn Mallard from Darkwing Duck. This suddenly makes it much less cool for me. 😦

Seven Movies I Have Loved:

  1. Magnolia
  2. About a Boy
  3. Rad
  4. Before Night Falls
  5. All About My Mother
  6. Saint Clara
  7. Titus

I went to The Texas Library Association conference Thursday and Friday. It’s no ALA, but I had fun. Mostly because I was with a great friend who knows how to show a girl a good time. We rode a golf cart down to the boardwalk and fed catfish (I didn’t have a quarter to buy the catfish food, but we found 3 little pieces by scrounging around the little vending machines and that was good enough.) We also went to see Body Worlds. It was absolutely fascinating. (Read more here. Be sure to scroll for the picture of the nerves!)

Here’s the shwag I walked away with:

Not pictured Daniel Handler’s Adverbs: A Novel. We were particularly excited to get Maybe Baby? and Adverbs because they were the only copies of each being given away and there were maybe 20 people in front of us when we got in line. But since TLA is mostly older school librarians, we lucked out in the hip book department. Go us!

I also got a bunch of knitting done:

Lastly, check out this lady purse, designed to tell you if you forgot your keys.

 
 

4 responses to “Just stopping by…

  1. katie

    April 30, 2006 at 10:26 am

    Ooh, is that Fad Classic from Knit and Tonic? Whether it is or isn’t, I like it! Purple is fun!

     
  2. ellie

    April 30, 2006 at 11:29 am

    It is, it is. Thanks!

     
  3. Imbrium

    May 1, 2006 at 2:22 pm

    I wanna go to Body Worlds, and Bradon flat-out refuses. We’re members at the Denver Museum of Nature and Science, and when they sent out the season’s preview-magazine thing, they were advertising it – Bradon was so grossed out by the pictures, he won’t even consider it. And everyone thinks I’m the squeamish one.

     
  4. ellie

    May 6, 2006 at 3:17 pm

    Yeah, most people I’ve mentioned it to have been completely grossed out. Thankfully my friend thought of me first when she wanted to go. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
