RSS

Fun weekend.

22 May

Thanks to everyone for all the congratulations. It’s a little weird not doing anything to mark the occasion. I chose not to walk, and I’m happy with that. I hate all that kind of ceremony, but it also denies me that pat on the back, you know? I’m thinking of throwing together a little party locally and one back home with another friend who just graduated later in the summer. So that should be fun.

For now I’m finishing up hours and job hunting and apartment hunting. Keep sending me all your positive energy, all these life changes are stressing me out when all I’ve wanted for a while now is to be settled down. I’m trying to switch the outlook to exciting new opportunities, but it keeps feeling like turmoil and uncertainty instead. At least I knew it was coming. You can’t spend two to three months concentrating completely and solely on the next nearest deadline without some emotional fallout. I feel lucky to have such an awesome support system. So thanks guys! Extra especially to all my local friends who have been there for me through this semester and all my coming and going and babbling and complaining and flaking and needing of attention and distraction. You guys rule.

But I took the weekend off from all that. (OK, not the emotional fallout, but the work at least.)

I finished another puzzle with no picture. This time you did actually use the blacklight on the puzzle, but it was super hard to read and I never read the book, so it also wasn’t that interesting. But the puzzle was super fun.

I finished Fad Classic, but haven’t taken any pictures yet. I’m kind of sad that I don’t have any cute button down collared shirts to wear with it, so I guess I’ll have to remedy that. I also did a little more embroidering. This time for Shawn, who chose to remain faceless with me. It’s the bird from Sublime Stitching’s Gothic Grandeur set that Shawn brought me back from Portland. I think it turned out pretty good.  I tried the split stitch this time. I had used the back stitch on the dino, and I’m still planning to try the stem stitch on something soon.

Speaking of Portland, I hear good things, but I also hear the job market is terrible. Anyone have thoughts they’d like to share on Portland and/or Seattle? Austin is too dang hot y’all.

 

5 responses to “Fun weekend.

  1. Mary

    May 22, 2006 at 4:41 pm

    “Seattle” (and parts a bit out from it) has a few Librarian openings. Check out their websites (googling them is easier than me giving you incorrect links (I’m really good at that): Seattle Public Library, King County Library, Sno-isle.org is the Snohomish area library system. I know for a fact they’re looking for MLS people for Sno-Isle and SPL had a couple openings a few months ago but I haven’t looked since they closed reqs for Library Pages (which is the only thing I qualify for).
    Good Luck!

     
  2. Imbrium

    May 22, 2006 at 7:51 pm

    He may be faceless, but he’s got those nice, skinny-boy arms. 😉

     
  3. Morgan

    May 22, 2006 at 10:12 pm

    I looooooooooooooooooove Portland. So. Much. I mean, Seattle’s swell, too, but PDX has some of my favorite people, cheaper housing, and better weather.
    My suspicion about the notorious Portland job market is that it’s easier to find higher-level jobs there than entry level ones, because it’s a town full of artsy ppl looking for day jobs, as they can actually support themselves on them. Thus, I would be willing to wager it’s easier to find a gig as a lawyer than as, say, a Starbucks barista, but I have no real evidence that this is true. No idea about the library scene, but there’s a fair number of universities in the area.

     
  4. Lolly

    May 23, 2006 at 10:59 am

    I would move to Portland in a second. It is an amazing city. I want to move there! Unfortunately, I know nothing about the library scene there – but they do have several universities.

     
  5. Jenn

    May 26, 2006 at 12:55 am

    Hey Ellie,
    I (your SP7) live in Portland and love it, but… As for moving here I’d have to ask how much to you need sunshine. Although it’s not as bad as it used to be, the rainy season is still from the day before Halloween to July 5 (if not longer). And when it’s not raining, it’s grey and cloudy.
    Seattle gets more rain but they have a better economy. It’s a bigger city.
    As for libraries, the big one in the area is Multnomah County library (http://www.multcolib.org/) and I seriously doubt they’re hiring. We do have several univiersities in town. Also my dad’s girlfriend (in the Bay Area) is a librarian but works at a law firm. She does research for them all day.
    Anyway, send me an email if you want to know more about the area.

     

Leave a Reply

 
