RSS

Fad Classic.

23 May

As always, click for larger images.

Yarn: Knit Picks Shine, 60% Pima Cotton, 40% Modal, 110 yards/50 gram ball, 6 balls

Needles: Size 5s from my Denise kit and a borrowed set of 3s from a friend.

Pattern: Fad Classic from Wendy at Knit and Tonic

Notes: The yarn is not the right gauge for the pattern, so I just followed the pattern for a bigger size and hoped for the best. It’s a smidge big, but I’m fine with that. Plus I still need to get a fun button down shirt to wear under it. I made it longer than the pattern called for, and if I had it to do over I would also add more shaping. I am, perhaps, a smidge more curvy than Miss Wendy. Overall I’m pretty happy with this and now feel confident that I can design the brown linen stitch vest that I really want. Also, I love this yarn. Thanks again Secret Pal!

 
12 Comments

Posted by on May 23, 2006 in knitting

 

12 responses to “Fad Classic.

  1. Michelle

    May 23, 2006 at 8:26 pm

    I keep falling in love with this pattern over and over again. All signs are telling me to make this NOW! Yours looks great. Hmmm, knitpicks shine sounds like a great idea, too! Either that, or I’m going to use cascade pima tencel, which my friend Carrie used for hers. Something so simple and lovely about it, and you did a fantastic job!

     
  2. Imbrium

    May 23, 2006 at 9:47 pm

    Congratulations! You look fantastic in it!

     
  3. Dipsy D.

    May 24, 2006 at 4:29 am

    Oh, this turned out so gorgeous and it suits you perfectly! This pattern is high up on my “Have to do NOW!” list, it’s so beautiful!

     
  4. Lolly

    May 24, 2006 at 6:24 am

    Ellie, that is beautiful! What a rich purple! I really like yours – and it will be great with a shirt underneath too šŸ˜‰

     
  5. katie

    May 24, 2006 at 8:13 am

    Wow, I wasn’t too impressed with Fad Classic when Wendy first put it up but I am now! Very nice and it looks spectacular on you!

     
  6. morgan

    May 25, 2006 at 12:22 am

    That is super-cute. Hey, look, I’m Kasha!
    I would recommend plain old dress shirts, rather than buttondowns, unless you specifically want to go the menswear route. Because I am a shamless yuppie whore, I also recommend checking out Banana Republic, which usually has a good selection of dress casual shirts for women that are usually nicely fitted. Um, and I am not discussing child labor.

     
  7. morgan

    May 25, 2006 at 12:23 am

    Make that shamEless yuppie whore. Because I AM a yuppie whore, I am quite well shammed.

     
  8. ellie

    May 25, 2006 at 6:15 pm

    thanks everyone! and morgan – it is the collar rather than the buttons that contain the look i’m going for but don’t they go hand in hand? in which case i guess i’m going the menswear route.

     
  9. anne

    May 25, 2006 at 10:52 pm

    Hey, hey – nice work! I think it looks great w/o a shirt, too, which will likely be more comfy in Austin in June!

     
  10. Jenn

    May 26, 2006 at 12:41 am

    I’m glad you liked the yarn. Your Fad Classic looks great! I know the look you’re going for. I like the look of the button down shirt with a vest over it too.
    For a real yuppie look you could wear the vest over one of the polo shirts they’re selling at the gap these days. šŸ™‚

     
  11. morgan

    May 29, 2006 at 4:35 pm

    Women’s dress business shirts don’t tend to have button down collars… presumably because they never needed to contain neckties, but I’m not sure, given that the nicer variety of men’s dress shirts also tend not to have the buttons.

     
  12. me,Mavis

    June 1, 2006 at 6:22 am

    I agree with Katie. The vest looked only so-so until I saw your version. Very nice! Congratulations.

     

Leave a Reply

 
