RSS

Meet Stumpy.

27 May

Everyone, I’d like you to meet Stumpy. You may or may not have noticed an octopus on my “on the needles” sidebar. I started him well over a year ago now. Back before I taught myself to knit correctly. (I basically did the mirror image of knitting.) Back before I really paid much attention to picking appropriate yarn for the pattern. Or gauge. Or needle size. Or seaming correctly. Back when I was living in a real honest to goodness house for the first time (excluding my parents’ house) and had hopes and dreams and future plans as yet uncrushed. I was disloyal and switched to the eggplant hat and Stumpy languished. He only needed his last leg sewn up and on. Poor thing. So today was the day. See the thing is, at one point I was thinking about finishing Stumpy up as a reconciliation gift. There’s a certain someone who just loved tossing Stumpy’s floppy body around, using it as a pillow, and in general squishing him. He’s very squishable. He has a lovely beanbag stuffing. But the hatred… Oh the hatred. I didn’t know I was capable of this kind of hate. I feel like Mrs. White, “Yes, I did it. I killed Yvette. I hated her so… much… it… it… the… it… the… fee… flames… flames… on the side of my face… heaving… breathless… heaving breaths…” Oh the hate. And poor Stumpy, he was supposed to have felt eyes. I had felt at the house. Can’t seem to find it here at the apartment. More hate. So poor little Stumpy is likely to be gifted to one of my friends that shares my love of cephalopods. Hmmmm… I think that means you Zach. Send me your address if you want him, but don’t let Jetta eat him, OK?

Why Stumpy? Well, I bet you’re pretty astute and may have noticed that while typically octopuses have 8 appendages, Stumpy here has 4.75. That’s because I ran out of yarn Stumpy here got in a fight with a giant squid. Stumpy is a pretty tiny little octopus, so that should give you some idea of just how tough this guy is that he took on a giant squid more than 10 times his size and lived to tell the tale with only a few arms and one eye left behind. Go Stumpy! No stats on him since I didn’t keep track of the yarn or needles or pretty much anything. He is from World of Knitted Toys though, as was this snake.

Also, check this out (as seen on Pharyngula). It makes a pretty picture out of your website. The picture itself is pretty cool, but watching it come into existence is the coolest.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 27, 2006 in knitting

 

5 responses to “Meet Stumpy.

  1. Kasha

    May 27, 2006 at 3:49 pm

    Madeline Kahn, RIP. That is 100% my favorite part of that beloved movie. I recently purchased the DVD. Josh now knows what the h@ll I’m talking about when I say, “I hate her soooooo much, etc.” and laugh to myself all crazy-like. Classic. CLASSIC! I love Madeline Kahn; I actually feel teary.

     
  2. anne

    May 27, 2006 at 10:57 pm

    I heartily join in with my adoration of that movie. I know that, at some point, I knew all the lines by heart.
    Good ol’ Stumpy is such a champ.

     
  3. Carla

    May 28, 2006 at 9:23 pm

    I love Stumpy. Oh, and did Madeline Kahn die?? That’s so sad. I loved that movie!

     
  4. Amy

    January 18, 2007 at 4:01 pm

    I’ve had this octopus in progress for months now. I hate it. The patterns in World of Knitted Toys don’t agree with me. I think her ratio of stitch to row gauge is wonky. Everything I made from that book came out tall and skinny.

     
  5. ellie

    January 21, 2007 at 10:30 pm

    I gave the book away with the snake from the book, so I won’t be trying any more…

     

Leave a Reply

 
