RSS

Pure excitement.

07 Jun

I’m ashamed to admit that I had to be told this (thanks Emily!), but there’s a new David Attenborough dvd on the market. Life in the Undergrowth is now available in the U.S. and I have my first disc through Netflix today!

In other news… I am even more officially graduated. My diploma came in the mail today. I have to say I’m a little disappointed in the sloppy print job and the boring fonts. Even if I were the type to frame and hang my diploma, I wouldn’t want to with this one. The italics are on a different slant from the normal. And just look at the pretty sample fonts on the frames they’re trying to sell me. Why isn’t my diploma in that gangsta tattoo font?

Oh, knitting, you want to know about that? Well, I’m finally starting to do some again. This is a good thing since the only thing stopping me for the last three weeks was my lack of interest and not a lack of time at all. But I decided I was never going to wear that scarf. For one, I don’t wear scarves. For two, I live in Austin, there is never a time to wear scarves. For three, I wanted that yarn to be a lacy shawl, I was just too lazy to figure out how and I didn’t think I had enough yarn. So I pulled out the size 19 needles and am winging it. Hope that I have enough yarn to make it long enough, will you?

And thanks for all the sweet comments on the last post. The tank/vest is Drunken Argyle (a sweater vest for my dad) and kitty’s name is B. Which is short for B.W. She’s named after Beatrice Warde. I thought for sure I had done a post on this, but I can’t seem to find it, so maybe I didn’t. She’s an early 20th century typographer and she’s super fun. I wrote a paper on her for my history of printing course.

Last up, look at what my sweetie got me when we were out thrifting. Too cool:

 

6 responses to “Pure excitement.

  1. anne

    June 7, 2006 at 8:31 pm

    Congrats on the diploma, though I agree with you about the font.
    Hey, I see you’re reading “Maybe Baby” – how do you like it?

     
  2. Mary

    June 8, 2006 at 1:41 am

    Gangsta font rules! Or something. My Stanford one has more curly bits than my UCSC one…neither are framed. Be thankful it’s not in Latin, at least you can read what kind of degree you got. Mine was an A.M. on my transcripsts until Stanford decided it was tired of getting calls “confirming” this was the same as an “M.A.” 🙂

     
  3. katie

    June 8, 2006 at 8:20 am

    Congratulations again! Actually having the diploma must feel great.
    That picture seems so YOU, what with all the underwater friends. 😉

     
  4. Imbrium

    June 8, 2006 at 11:20 am

    My diploma is currently hidden in a safe at my parents’ house. Even five years later, I’m constantly worried that some official from my alma mater is going to show up on my doorstep and say “We didn’t mean to give you a diploma…please give it back.”
    Here’s to hoping for enough yarn!

     
  5. ellie

    June 8, 2006 at 5:38 pm

    Thanks guys!

     
  6. Emily

    June 9, 2006 at 1:22 pm

    What a great thrift find!
    I felt so-so about that yarn combo as a scarf but I think it looks great as a shawl!
    Thanks for the kitty info. I love cats but I’m allergic 😦

     

Leave a Reply

 
