RSS

Hello there.

09 Jul

It would seem that I’ve gotten a bit spotty again. It’s a busy time. I’m working 8-8 Monday through Thursday and 8-5 Friday. I’m trying to get everything together to move this coming weekend. My birthday is Thursday. And I’m going home to visit my family the following Thursday for a long weekend. Also Shawn’s parents just left town after spending a week helping him work on his house. (Cross your fingers there will be no more flooding.) So we spent the weekend cleaning the dust off of things from sanding the concrete floors before staining them, washing all the sheets and towels (and the knitting and bag that Parker Pug peed on/in), getting a rug, moving furniture back into place, vaccuuming, and generally getting the place back in order. It felt wonderfully domestic. I brought B over for the weekend, so it was fun to have all the little animals wandering around and curled up with us. A very warm and fuzzy time. I did manage a little knitting on Something Red Brown, which is coming along swimmingly and super fun to work on.

Work has been going really well. I’m moving at a good clip at both jobs, though keeping to myself maybe a bit more than I should if I want either of them to turn into something more than just for the summer. But the work at the first job is so mind numbing that the only way I get through it is by listening to audio books. I’ve been tearing through some more Terry Pratchet, the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, and now I’m on Dune. Wow, that list makes me feel like a total geek. Which I am not denying mind you, but I’m more used to it coming out in talking about squid or vikings. Dune is a whole different level. Anyway… I’m planning on listening to the Harry Potter books as well. I’ve never read them and everyone always gives me a hard time about it. Oh, and Lord of the Rings too. So far I’ve been exhausting a friend’s collection, but I have a feeling I’ll be hitting up my local library before the summer is over. I don’t think I’ll have something to share every day, so I’m going to try to make up for it by leaving more comments.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 9, 2006 in knitting, other bits of life

 

3 responses to “Hello there.

  1. Mary

    July 10, 2006 at 10:16 pm

    I’ve never listened to a Pratchett book…after I finish Once More* *With Footnotes, I’ll be all caught up on him. I LOVE LOVE LOVE listening to Jim Dale (I think that’s his name…), the fellow who reads/performs the Harry Potter novels. My housemate thinks I’m bonkers as I’m always “re-listening” to that series…I think it’s the voice. Another audio book I thought was creepy-cool to listen to? The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold. All library borrowings, by the way.

     
  2. ellie

    July 12, 2006 at 8:44 am

    Well I’ll look forward to the Harry Potters then. I LOVE the guy that reads the Pratchett books. Looks like he’s Stephen Briggs. I’m on Monstrous Regiment right now, and not finding it as humorous as the others I’ve “read.”

     
  3. morgan

    July 20, 2006 at 2:21 pm

    The Brit CD versions of Harry Potter are read by…. STEPHEN FRY!!!
    Which makes me ridiculously happy, and tempted to spend waaaaaay too much money on amazon.co.uk.
    Also…. Dune??? Ye gods, Elda, that IS geeky.

     

Leave a Reply

 
