RSS

Cable is dangerous…

14 Jul

I’ve lived for the last year with no cable, and effectively more like two or three years without watching it on any regular basis. I’m not really against television, I’m just addicted to the internet and knitting and netflix, so I tend not to really get around to it. Shawn’s tenant set up cable at his house, so now I have random access and mostly linger on the food network or one of the home or architecture shows. But last night we turned the TV on in order to watch some of one of my gifts – Aqua Teen Hunger Force (Season 4).

Have you seen America’s Got Talent? I am fairly categorically against reality TV despite (or maybe because of?) having worked in it for a number of years. But this show. I couldn’t turn away. For starters it had David Hasselhoff. If not for that I wouldn’t have stayed to see what it was. And then I spotted a girl with dreads decked out in shimmery glittery nonsense and HAD to see what her “talent” was going to be. Shawn likened it to a train wreck, one with lots of bodies hanging out of the windows. We were mesmerized. Good lord they were awful. And the judges would say their bit and give them a checkmark or an X. And TWICE some judge had just finished up saying something mean and about to give them their X and the trigger slipped and they got a check and that’s just how the show worked. Ooops, lucky you, their hand slipped. The dread girl? She was a hoop dancer. Like with hoola hoops. Not that it doesn’t take talent to move those things, and not that she didn’t move well. But seriously? Hoola hoops? And what does it mean that I could not find the official web site for this show by searching it’s name and looking at the first 2 pages of results? Ouch.

Anyway…

My birthday was a smash. The Indian food was excellent and I have some wonderful presents I’ll have to get photos of soon, but they include a beautiful Edward Gorey puzzle, a t-shirt with a pirate octopus on it and the aforementioned ATHF dvd. And now back to the copy and paste. Wish me luck on my move this weekend that I don’t turn into a terrible grumpy troll. I’m looking forward to a lot of knitting next week on my trip home. So you should be seeing a finished Something Red fairly soon.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 14, 2006 in other bits of life

 

3 responses to “Cable is dangerous…

  1. Kristin

    July 14, 2006 at 11:35 am

    I used to be a Star Search fan back in the day so I too was mesmerized by America’s Got Talent and the wonder that it is David Hasselhoff’s hair!
    Happy Belated Birthday!

     
  2. Vegan Knitting

    July 14, 2006 at 1:37 pm

    Haha. I thought you meant cable as in knitted cables!
    Wow – a pirate octopus – it can’t get much better than that for you! I’m so glad you enjoyed your birthday!
    We don’t have cable, either, nor an antenna. We have a TV but just use it for DVDs.

     
  3. ellie

    July 14, 2006 at 10:22 pm

    Good call on the Star Search. I used to love that show too. Maybe that explains it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
